What are you reading?

in #life5 years ago

I went to the library on Friday. I have been interested in nutrition since 2007 and have been eating a whole foods based diet since that time. I always get excited when I find new cookbooks that utilize whole food ingredients. I have decided that I will likely purchase three of these books and copied a dozen or so recipes each from the other three.

"Wheat Belly 30 Minute (or less) Cookbook" - Although I have been gluten free for nearly a decade for health reasons, I have never read Wheat Belly! Honestly, I feel I am already fairly well versed on what it teaches that there are other things I have chosen to read instead. Not that I am opposed to reading it, but it just isn't on the top of my stack. I picked up the cookbook on a whim and I am glad I did. The recipes are whole food based and there were so many that interested me that I have decided to buy the cookbook at some point.

"Artisinal Gluten Free Cooking" - I found this one kinda drab. I found a handful of recipes that look good that I copied down on index cards, but this one is one I am glad I didn't purchase.

"RAWvolution" - I was super excited about this one, but was a bit disappointed that I only found a quarter of the recipes exciting. I copied a bunch down to try, but won't be purchasing this one.

"RAW: The Uncook Book" - This one was surprisingly awesome!! Lots of fantastic recipes! I added this one to my Amazon wishlist and hope to buy it soon.

"Fresh From The Farm" - This one was a big disappointment. I found a handful of recipes that excited me, but will not be adding it to my list of books to buy.

"The How Not To Die Cookbook" - This one is definitely being added to my list of books to purchase. So many great, whole food, plant based recipes!

20190412_160508.jpg

Sort:  

Currently my top book is Why We Sleep by Matthew Walker. Saw his YouTube on here a couple weeks back, got the book from the library, was so impressed I went out and bought it.

Also reading The Edwardian Farm and watching the videos when I'm too tired to read. Just received The Victorian Farm Christmas edition in the mail yesterday. That should be a fun read.

In the past food books:

What to Eat When By Michael Roizen, Michael Crupain and Ted Spiker
Deep Nutrition by Catherine Shanahan, Luke Shanahan
Eating on the Wild Side by Jo Robinson
Cooked by Michael Pollan
Omnivore's Dilemma by Michael Pollan
Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon

Thanks for sharing! I have read Omnivore's Dilemma years ago and have read and owned Nourishing Traditions for over a decade!

Congratulations @themyrrhmaid! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99