Nature Hike at An American Homestead

in #life7 years ago (edited)

As I've mentioned before we spent over a week on @mericanhomestead learning and fellowshipping. We had a BLAST! The day before we had to leave @mericanhomestead took us on a nature walk to look for some "treasures" on his property. Of course, I was super excited to find Juniper Berry trees. So excited that, in fact, our departure the next day was delayed by at least an hour so that my husband could dig up a few small trees and I could gather a baggie of berries for a tincture. Totally worth it, although my husband may disagree as he is the one who will be digging the holes to plant these new additions to our farm!

If you aren't familiar with the medicinal benefits of Juniper berries Dr. Axe does a good job in this article explaining the many benefits.
https://draxe.com/juniper-berries/

I believe it is always wise when we have the opportunity to add medicinal herbs to our property that we do what we can to make it happen, especially when it is free to do so. We never know what may happen down the road and having a backyard pharmacy never hurts!

DSC01436.JPG

DSC01441.JPG

DSC01444.JPG

And I couldn't help but post this picture of this incredible praying mantis.
DSC01446.JPG

Check out my Etsy store
www.themyrrhmaid.com

Sort:  

A lot of folks, here in Ohio, have Juniper planted as bushes at their houses.
Love your lil praying mantis pal.

Already did! :)

Not that dude my wall post??

Have you gotten your tincture started yet? I can't wait for mine to be done. I always use juniper berry for urinary health but did not realize it was good for the skin. Thanks for sharing that article, it was really informative!

I haven't started it yet. My leaves are laying on a napkin "drying" until I can get around to it. Still unpacking!

Congratulations @themyrrhmaid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74