You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Fall Of A Business—Why My Dislike Of All Government Is Personal

in #life6 years ago

I think I've heard this story from you in bits and pieces. It's sad to read about, but I appreciate you sharing. I feel like I know you a little better as I read about your struggles in the business. It sounds like some of the personnel issues were tough to deal with, but also sounds like you handled them well.

I'm sorry that things didn't work out. I hope you're able to either make progress here or find something that you like and will pay you well. It's not easy being in a place where you have enough, but not a lot. Don't settle for less.

Sort:  

You probably have heard most of it. At this point, I don't know who I have and haven't told. But now it's done and I can move on to other things. :)

I discovered rather quickly that I didn't like having employees. You either get close and then when things go awry you're doing things that break hearts, or you end up in relationships that are more toxic than they should be and you end up firing them and feeling guilty about it anyway. Lose lose.

I know there are plenty of happier scenarios that go on thousands of times a day for decades. I'm just not that guy.

As it is, I like the idea of being able to do something for myself, by myself. STEEM is a good deal for me. I get to write as much as I possibly can, and I make something from it, and I get to come and go.

I'm not sure what I'm going to find outside of this, that I could be really good at, that will allow me to do those things. That's why I'm here. If I had found it, I would probably be doing it. I say probably, but it's more of a sure thing. I wouldn't be accepting the hoops I'll have to go through at whatever point I want to convert STEEM to dollars. I'd just be earning dollars.

I can see how it would be challenging to have employees. Things don't always work out and it can be tough to deal with the parting.

I hope that either Steem picks up and you're able to start getting some serious rewards, or that you're able to find some work that you enjoy doing so you don't have to jump through all the hoops.

Gotta put food on the table and it's tough to do that if you're not happy with what you're doing.

Well, I appreciate the well wishing here. My situation is not that dire, it's just that my wife likes as much security as she can get, and if she ends up getting hernia surgery and is off for six weeks, it will make things tighter, but not impossible. However, if I do get a job, it will ease some stress on her end, so anyway.

Having something I like to do is slowly becoming a non-option, just because what I like to do is what I'm doing now, or publishing stories that have yet to make any money, or something else that can create perpetual residual income. At any rate, we've been making it to this point, and I'm certain we will continue to make it regardless of what happens with her appointment with the surgeon.

You're already a published author. Have you thought of working on more books that you could publish. Even if you just write them for publication on Amazon Unlimited, you still get something when people read it. I don't know how long it takes to come up with the stuff, but it could be another small stream of revenue. I'm just brainstorming. No pressure at all.

I'd need to look more into Amazon Unlimited. From what I remember of it, there were requirements I couldn't/didn't want to meet, or the earnings were way low. Anyway, I do have the two Kindle books I did publish sitting there. I haven't done anything to promote them in a long time.

As far as writing more goes, I do have the third book that's unfinished and probably needs a major rewrite, but I would probably have to give up here to do it. Creativity doesn't work like an on off switch with me. If I have something started and I sit down to continue it, I would say mostly I can continue. However, there are plenty of times where I have nothing. Inspiration comes and lingers and definitely goes and stays away.

I guess I could work on STEEM until I had an idea and then go and write it and then come back when I was at a stopping point. I'm just not that great at starting and stopping projects. I do better with one at a time.

From what I understand, you get $0.004 per page that someone reads. So if you have a longer book, you could get a semi-decent amount of money from each reader.

I know what you mean about doing better sticking with one project. Sometimes that's the best way to do it because then all your attentions are on it and you can complete it then move one.

Hopefully it wouldn't mean that you have to stop Steemit, but that's a bridge you might have to cross later.

Believe me, I woudn't be surprised if Steemit is yet another stepping stone to something else. Story of my life. Always arriving, never arrived. Well, at least not for very long. The newspaper business felt like I had arrived. Then it didn't, then it did, and then it didn't.

I could probably continue to comment and curate. Doing anything else would cut into my posting, unless I was posting something of what I was doing. I guess that could work. This week, I'm concentrating on as much engagement as I can and as wide as I can get it.

Maybe I can think about something else next week if I can manage to get back on top the league this week. :)

I look forward to seeing the results of your experiment. And I'm curious what this "something else" might be. I'll have to wait though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60166.58
ETH 2964.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79