A mother's love .....

in #life7 years ago


Image Credit

I went to my 88-year-old grandmother’s house this morning to do their washing. She has been looking after my aunt for the last few years. My aunt tried to commit suicide a few times and the poison she took damaged her brain. She can’t taste smell or feel anything. My grandmother has five collapsed vertebra due to osteoporosis and the pain has become so bad that she can’t sleep at night, she is basically in bed all the time.

She outright refuses to leave my aunt alone to be admitted to hospital to get the necessary help. My mom is at her wit’s end, nothing she suggests is good enough. I have to admit, I get upset with her at times as she is so stubborn and we are just trying to help her.

This morning when I got there, my grandmother got up to get my aunt some cream soda as she is not drinking enough and needs to drink. There is not much left of the nurturing and loving grandmother who once been the heart of the family. She could barely get up and as she was slowly moving towards the kitchen my heart just melted. I realised that she is not just stubborn, but she loves her child so much that she will protect her daughter for as long as she can even if it means to be in the unbearable pain.

We will probably do the same for our children. We are mothers for life……..

Sort:  

Warmth. good posting

You are a beauty-full blessing this morning. Love is the ability to have our hearts broken many times and continue to be care givers and grow deeper in compassion. Sharing your story is so profound; so many of us keep our family ordeals and suffering under wraps. Thank you for sharing the courage you and your grandmother and family embody. Sending prayers and positive energy.

Thank you @sacka. I have to say I feel guilty for not doing enough ....

I can relate but you are fully with her in spirit and compassion. We are humbled by these situation. God Bless you and thank you for sharing.

I think taking care of the elderly is something that many of us neglect, they need the stimulation of good conversion and help with those things we take for granted. I am not many years away from entering that category (69). What touches me deeply is when I go to our local old age home and see the neglected souls just staring into space. What you are doing is a kindness and an act of caring, God will bless you for that.

Thank you @petruska13, I am definitely not doing enough ....

The wheel turns full circle...child, young adult, adult, old adult (child) ... it is good you are there for them @themanswife ... and as you say.. a mothers love knows no bounds!!
Thank you for sharing.

Thanks. It is so sad to see to what extent a mother will go to protect her child, even at the age of 88.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66433.10
ETH 3607.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69