When life was simple - A music poststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

A friend sent me an old tune from the 60's on my mobile. While I was listening to it my mind drifted to my early days in the late 60's and through the 1970's. Our life was so uncomplicated and to a large extent innocent (and ignorant) as there was no television, no social media and certainly no internet for access to the the global village. We were literally a village.


The Drifters -Kissing in the back row of the Movies

Your momma says
That through the week
You can't go out with me
But when the weekend comes around
She knows where we will be

Kissin' in the back row
Of the movies on a Saturday night with you
Holding hands together you and I
Holding hands together oh yeah
Smooching in the back row
Of the movies on a Saturday night with you
We could stay forever you and I
We could stay forever you and I
Hugging and a kissin' in the back row of the movies

Every night I pick you up from school
'cause your my steady date
But from Monday through to Friday night
I leave you at the gate yeah

You know we can't have to much fun
Till all your homeworks done
But when the weekend comes
She knows where we will be
Lyrics Credit

No desires beyond hooking up with a cute girl and making out, pass those damn exams and make sure your room is tidy. Saturday afternoon was movies and comic swopping during the interval or when the cinema operator swopped reels.


Image Credit

Each evening there was a radio serial which we would listen to, our favorites being Friday nights Squad Cars, Wednesday night was No Place to Hide with the inimitable Mark Saxon and Sergei, and of course Sunday night was Taxi .... followed by the Top 20 Hit Parade on Lourenco Marques Radio (LM radio).... our weekly highlight over which we speculate all week which artist is going up and which tunes are dropping.




Image Credit

Cliff Richard - Lucky Lips 1963

When I was just a little baby I didn't have many toys,
But my mama used to say, son, you've got more than other boys.
Now you may not be good looking,
And you may not be too rich.
But you'll never ever be alone,
Cause you've got lucky lips.

Lucky lips are always kissing
Lucky lips are never blue.
Lucky lips will always find a pair of lips so true.
Don't need a four-leaf clover,
Rabbit's foot or a good look charm.
With lucky lips you'll always have,
A baby in your arms.

Now I never get heartbroken,
No, I never get the blues.
And if I play that game of love I know I just can't lose.
When they spin that wheel of fortune,
All I do is kiss my chips,
And I know I'm 'bout to win, Yeah!
Cause I've got lucky lips.
Lyrics

That sort of wraps up this little trip down memory lane ...and thanks Savas for reminding me of simpler times !! I leave you with a musical summary of our philosophy at the time ....


Mungo Jerry - In the Summertime

Namaste






















Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this great post i was very excited to read it

Thank you for stopping by, your support is appreciated.

U are welcome thank U

Ah yes, I remember all those. Mungo Jerry are still pretty funky.

I got subjected to songs like that as a kid 😆 things probably were simpler back then but I’ll put up with the silliness now because the tech enables the kind of art I’m actually partway decent at 😆

Thanks for passing on the nostalgia 😄

Posted using Partiko iOS

BUT .... would you want to be a teenager now? {opens debate....waits for riposte} {grin}

Pfft I'm not witty enough for ripostes XD

I don't think I'd mind being a teenager now, I would have been able to get into what I'm doing now a lot earlier probably as the tech is available now rather than struggling for ages before finally getting to be able to do what I do XD though meeting online friends in meatspace would probably be harder as they would have to contend with my hopeless realtime social skills XD (I'm much, much better at typing than talking). But either way maybe I would then actually have achieved something by the age I am now instead of continuing to struggle along as I am XD

Downside to growing up now is that my relatives would probably be more paranoid than they were when I was living with them during high school and we were in a "good" neighbourhood XD

Funny (in an awesome way) timing - hubby & I were just waxing nostalgically last night about simpler times. I remember when the thing that made me happiest was to hop on my bike and ride to a local shop for some candy and the latest issue of Mad Magazine. Thanks for the auricular stroll down memory lane!

My pleasure... and THANK YOU for reminding me of one of our great pleasures...Alfred E. Neumann ... damn, he rocked. We were too poor to afford the mag but we always got a hand on one after a few months..so we read January edition in June and February in July etc. Spy vs Spy was my fave....


Image Credit

Congratulations @themagus! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 17000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 18000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82