Smog City and the big Snarl Up

in #life7 years ago

For my sins I had to do a business trip to Johannesburg this past week, hence my blog being so quiet. One positive that came from the first day on the trip is I arranged to meet up with fellow Steemian @jacor for a couple of beverages and a good chat about life the universe (Steemit) and everything.

Leaving just before 16h00 I punched in my destination on Google Maps and was advised I would reach my destination in 1h06m . I hopped onto the highway and sped along....

traffic1.jpg
Things were going swimmingly until Google maps told me 'You are on the fastest route despite a 23 minute delay

Now I had made a stupid teetotaller error ... I did not go point percy at the porcelain before setting out and at this stage the litre of liquid I had consumed was starting to be a bit of a discomfort

traffic2.jpg
See that arrow...marks the halfway mark of my journey and how about 5 lanes of barely moving traffic

An hour and 15 minutes into the journey enter Google Maps again... dang it is a clever innovation.. "Truck broken down in left lane on R24 expect delays of 42 minutes

Bladder aching now and seat belt across my lap causing much stress

traffic3.jpg
Just past halfway and I am desperately looking around the car for a bottle - grinding my teeth and swivelling around the seat to try and relieve the pressure

And then the traffic advice board lights up on the side of the road... and I groan out loud

traffic4.jpg

Desperate times call for desperate measures, even if ones dignity is impeded, compromised whatever. Switching my left indicator on I started tacking across the lanes ...three in total just forcing my way in

Not for sensitive viewers

traffic5.jpg
I whipped it out and sprayed the verge with a minimum of delay to much hooting from the crawling cars passing by... but I just grinned widely and waved . MAN... That was one of the best moments ever.

Sun had set and I was still on the road finally completing the journey in 02h40 totally exhausted. How do people do this day in and day out?

traffic6.jpg

I am sure many of you have had these kinds of experiences and can identify. Big lesson learnt..always always visit the john before embarking on a journey into potential traffic.

Just a lighthearted post and as always, thank you for reading!!

Sort:  

Good story, thank you!

My pleasure... thanks for reading

upvoted.please resteem my introduction post if possible.Thanks friend. ♥ from me.

♦♦♦♥♥♥♥🎯🎯🎯🎯🎯

Loading...

god i hate traffic and smog lol

Amen !! Traffic is a waste of life....

There is nothing worse than having to pee while stuck in traffic. I feel for you!

Thank you .... must be the first time in my adult life I have ever just hauled it out in public ... but damn I was in agony !!!

Your post is very nice .. good luck

Empty plastic bottle could help you. It saved my life in alike situation

I see the urgency in the spray - Dexter.

great post -- really like the way you use darker and different fonts -- and wonder how you do that too?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49