Estate Planning in the Crypto Era

in #life7 years ago

When I was young my parents had a ‘bank book’ in which they kept their money. It was actually a building society named The Permanent Building Society to whom the property was ‘bonded’. Life was rather uncomplicated. One bank account, one property, one funeral policy and perhaps if you had a little spare cash each month…. A life policy.


Image Credit

So estate planning was a breeze. One pager stating who gets what from the bank account, house and policies and whether you wished to be buried or barbecued.

Fast forward to the online age….. and beyond!! Consider how one needs to prepare for one’s demise, that one thing that is guaranteed in life.

So ask yourself some questions here about what happens when you suddenly depart this mortal coil.
How do I want to be remembered? Think Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Steemit, WeChat, Watsapp etc. etc. Will these hang around forever or do we ensure that we leave passwords and relevant login details for someone to clean up?
Me personally, I want that stuff taken care of (except Steemit of course) … so I need to ensure that all the gory details are recorded somewhere..and maintained.


Image Credit

Let’s look at the more important things like your actual estate. The average adult family man / woman has
one or more bank accounts
one or more cell phone contracts
a mortgage
shares and stock options on a securities exchange
Life Insurance
various short term debts such as clothing accounts

and now CRYPTOCURRENCIES

What got me thinking about this was having to get on an aeroplane this morning ( I hate flying ) and thinking ‘ Who knows where my hardware wallet is and what to do with it?


image Credit

What about my holdings on exchanges? What does one do with handling all these passwords and URL’s? I know that many will say use a password vault online and that is indeed an option, not one that I like as it is like a beautiful naked woman on the beach..attracts a lot of attention....... not the desirable kind though.

While thinking about this and googling ideas I came across an article on bravenewcoin which attempts to deal with the crypto side of things, and I imagine one could expand that to include all online access control.

From the article:-

Dear {friends, family, estate},
Today’s date is {insert date}. This letter is to inform you that I own digital assets that aren’t held or controlled by third parties. I want to be sure that you can access them in case someday I can’t. Please read through this letter completely before you take any action and contact Third Key Solutions (thirdkey.solutions) before you start moving funds. I created my technical plan with them and they can help you learn how to handle these assets securely. In case they’re not available, you can also contact ___________________ or _______________________. Do not access them unless {death, mentally injured, _______________________}.
Remember, these assets aren’t held by a bank and mistakes can’t be fixed;

Visit the site and read the ‘Letter to a Loved One’, there are some good ideas there and certainly a starting block


Image Credit

I look forward to enjoying everybody else’s ideas on how to handle this new challenge when planning an estate . Thanks for reading

Sort:  

I am really enjoying discussions about the economic side effects of all these new asset classes.

Honestly, I think the result for awhile will be people dying with a whole bunch of assets unclaimed in perpetuity. In considering my own situation there are any number of online resources no one but myself even knows about. Not to mention several I've forgotten about.

More than likely, if i were to die tomorrow, a bunch of that stuff would just fall into perpetual limbo.

Amen..... I am in the same boat...hence I MUST make a plan to document the whole story somewhere somehow.

I think it would be wise to set up each of your children with a mining rig and just let the coins accumulate in a wallet for them.

Not a shabby idea actually. First though I need to get enough to retire on {grin}

I think it's the best thing you can do for them right now. We will all be amazed how that will turn out for them.

Honestly its almost just as easy to keep everything in a special book, with directions on paper, in a fireproof safe. Thats what I do.

Definitely makes for "food for thought".

I am going to dedicate an entire day to putting together an estate planning folder of some type.

I have been thinking the same thing recently as crypto prices have risen. I do not have anyone close to me who understands much more about crypto than how to spell it.

Even now, I have a digital bitcoin-qt backup file with some crypto on it, but I believe I need to reload the software and the whole blockchain to get access to it.

It would be a mess for someone unfamiliar with it to try to track it all down and secure it.

"digital bitcoin-qt backup file" ... gosh that is a new one... even for us okes who understand cryptocurrencies. I have ICO tokens on one exchange (no wallets yet as not mainnet ), two different trading exchanges with various crypto's and hdw wallet... aishhhhhhh

You definitely make a good point, i will have to take a closer look at my online assets. Thanks for the article, some food for thought.

Thanks for taking the time out to read and respond... appreciated.

Wow! Never thought of it. How fast the world is changing.

I reckon you are in pretty good company actually... thanks for the response

I've been thinking about this for a while now and I eventually ended up on leaving a note or letter of some sort with instructions on how to get a hold of all my digital property when I leave. Thanks for sharing these ideas.

Nowadays, things are way more complicated for sure.

Thanks for taking the time to read and respond... I will make a start this weekend

That's definitely a good point! I'll be acting on this. Right now, my digital assets would be stuck in limbo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85