And so it came to pass ....

in #life7 years ago

Will it really happen... was a post I made yesterday on a weather system which was predicted to hit our shores late last night....And so it came to pass!!

office.jpg
Beautiful Rain

I have been writing about the drought in Cape Town ad nauseum, so it is a great relief to show some wet pictures.

smallcanal.jpg
This small canal has been dry for a few months now (one can see how the grass has grown

Further down there is a bigger canal which runs to the water treatment plant. When I walk my dog in the dark I have been walking along the inside of the canal as there has only been a trickle down the one side. This morning it looked like this (see below)

maincanal1.jpg

maincanal2.jpg

It will be good to see the mallards, terns, shell duck, Ibis and geese come back to this area.

reeds.jpg
Used to be bustling with bird life - recently just plastic bottles and litter

And with the rains come new smells and temptations for my dog. Note the lights, we set out in the dark in the mornings so I put lights on him so I can keep track of where he is running.

20170607_074129.jpg
Where the hell is that mole? I know he is in there somewhere

20170607_075442.jpg
15 mm's overnight has been raining on and off all day.

We not out of the woods by a long way but at least the water table will be getting topped up . Also we estimate we got another 1000 litres into our water tank

Thanks for reading... and for all those whose collective consciousness sent the rain {grin}

Previous drought and water conservation posts:-
Home Gardening in drought conditions
A Gardeners Nightmare

Sort:  

Yay! {happy dance}

Thank you for the happy dance...our 3500l tank is full and over flowing, as well as every other container we possess..around another 500l ... and our garden will not need water for another week at least. 36mm's rain in 36 hours. Happy days.

I tried my best to redirect rain from Moscow to you and apparently succeeded

Thank you @busser ... now some snow please..that is the best for filling our dms.... Thank you in advance

There was thick snow for 5 months this winter. Cannot see it anymore

It made me so happy to see that water. Our drought broke in the summer. I think it will only get better for you from now.

When walking the dog I took my hat off and just let the rain pound my face.... was sooo beyoootiful.. just love it.

What great news! What a relief! I know you have a long way to go to refill all the soil moisture and deep groundwater. Your storage tank project just paid for itself, I think. Here's to much more gentle rain over the next few months!

Spot on, the dams have not yet been influenced and severe retrictons are still in place...BUT ..tank full, no need to use gray water in the garden...so this gets used in toilet cisterns. To date we have had 54 mm's of rain in June, the average for the month is just under 200 mm's.
For the first time our water bill was 0c this past month, we consumed as a household (4 adults) less than 100 litres a day {puffs chest out}

That water usage rate is something to be proud of! That deserves some celebration! It's less damaging to come out of a drought with steady rain than big floods, even though the floods would fill the reservoirs more quickly. It can take some time for that dry, dry soil to be able to even soak up rain after a big drought. It can even reject the first rains, causing erosion and putting a lot of pollution into the waterways. So I'm glad your rains have been moderate to start with. Let's hope you get your 200 mm's this month! Let the flowers bloom again! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78