How did you learn how to ignore people?

in #life7 years ago

Sitting outside today catching some sun away from the chilly temperatures of my office, I people-watched as usual.  It's always interesting to see people walk by, and these are the thoughts that circulate through my mind - Who is going to smile, who is going to ignore me as though they don't see a person sitting here, who is going to be a connected human today?

I always feel open and friendly to other people who come my way. This is not how all people feel, and I always wonder what is going on in the mind of those who just ignore. How did our society come to promote not even looking at other people as being the norm? How could this be the preferred way to be in the world? I honestly don't get  it.

Used to it? Yes, of course I am not going to cry about not being acknowledged by a passing stranger, but don't you think this is one of the problems in the world today? I mean the disconnected way we behave around "others". Is it possible that we will one day need to teach our children again to be openhearted instead of fearful?

If we keep going as we are, how do you think this world will be in the future? Please comment after some reflection to this question if you can remember the answer: How did you learn to ignore people?

Sort:  

Making eye contact with a stranger is usually taken as (1) a threat (2) an invitation. I never want to imply either, so I keep my head up and look aware of my surroundings, but am careful never to engage others if I'm walking alone.

More specifically... I learned this behavior by making eye contact a few too many times with people I would have prefferred not try to talk to me, lol!

Yes. I think, as a woman, walking down the street can be a totally different experience. It also depends on what street :) In a big city it might be overwhelming to honestly greet each person with your attention, while in my home town, it's normal and easy to do so. People smile or say good morning. I find in more open spaces, going for walks of hiking this is also normal. I think we all go through times of being more or less open to our surroundings and each other.

Thank you for sharing this perspective. Yes, I understand. Also, I agree that we all go through times of being more and less open. Lately though, for many years now, I am open in general. I have less fear and have been having more synchronicity and "in the flow" experiences than negative ones. I hope to hear more about your observations.

Thanks for posting the comment and for your honesty. I had forgotten this as a possibility. Lately I've been more in my heart, but I remember and sometimes have had the same experience even recently. I often forget that others can interpret an open, friendly manner as a come-on or something else. Again, thanks. I still believe we need to transform the world though, but I don't have all of the answers as to how obviously.

Congratulations @theluckytj! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94