Dr. TLK_ my journey on Steemit/life # 1_ What have I been doing?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

To my dear readers,

First, I would like to apologize if my contents lately are not to bar with your expectations.

Second, I wanted to update you on what I have been doing and why my productivity has dropped recently. The reason I want to share this with you is not because I want to give myself excuses, but because I want you to know how important you are to me and how much I care about your opinion and support.

The reasons are:


1- I have been working on my post-doctoral project for the past 2 years and now I am very busy trying to finish it before leaving research life for good

You may ask, what do I mean by leaving the research life for good?

I have been doing medical research for the past decade or more, starting in 2004. Few years ago, at the beginning of my post-doctoral training, I joined a lab that made me reconsider my future in research completely.

I joined research because I love helping people. Back in my country I wasn't able to study medicine because my brother didn't allow me to go to medical school since it was a mixed school (classes with both boys and girls). If you read my life story from the beginning, then you knew about this already.

When I found about medical research, my hopes of being able to help humanity came back again. Adding to that the fact that my supervisor when I started in 2004 until 2007, was a great and extremely intelligent man. His love to research was infectious and his believe in my capabilities was encouraging. From there I embarked on a journey with a vision to build my research career and become an independent investigator, having my own lab and my own students to teach and help grow.

However, the lab I joined in 2014 crushed all these dreams with realities I didn't want to face. The reality about me being a woman without the support of money or power in a field embedded with politics, rules and hierarchies. Politics made by men who reached high places they don't deserve and are now making sure that people are not going to catch up, unless they play the game.

I refused to play the game and that cost me my future career as an independent investigator. I lost interest and struggled for the past couple of years to finish the project I started, as well as to figure out what would my next step be. It took me a while and lots of stressing and depressing, but I finally found out what I wanted to do.


This brings me to the next reason:

2- I want to help people believe in themselves and realize their dreams

I have been through many obstacles in my life so far. If you have been following my personal story, you would know that it has not been a fun ride at all (at least from the parts I wrote). My biggest enemy was and still is my family. Despite the lack of support, the constant demoralizing remarks and crushing treatments I received, I was still able to persevere and become successful (at least in my education). My biggest challenge was the Post Traumatic Stress Disorders I had as a direct effect of the treatment I have been through. My PTSD symptoms were depression, severe/irrational fear, panic attacks, self loathing, suicidal thoughts and all the negative words I heard throughout my life that kept playing inside my head, despite being thousands of miles away from my family .

None of the medications and therapies I went through was enough to help make me a normal person again. Only my own desire and with sheer will power was I able to conquer most of the PTSD symptoms I have for good. And to be honest, I am very proud of myself for achieving that.

Because I have been through these experiences, because I know how it feels to be in that situation and because I was able to come over them, I feel that I can understand some of the difficulties people have in their lives. That is why I am obtaining official training/certification as a life coach to be able to help other people get over their blocks and attain the future they want for themselves. Be it successful career, relationship, or just happy and peaceful life (from within)


The third reason is,

3- I became a curator for @qurator group. I am the writer of their "The Daily Qurator." episodes
I suggest everyone to check it out and maybe decide to join if they want.

The fact that I am doing all these jobs in parallel is the main reason why my productivity has become less and my contents lost a lot of edge.

I am hoping things will get better by the end of this year or the beginning of next year. At least by then I hope I won't have my research project to worry about, which takes a big chunk of my daily life. At that time, I hope to get back to writing more and deliver better materials.


Until then, I sincerely ask for your patience and continuing support.

Much Love

Dr. The Leaping Koala

LEAPING_KOALA_8.png
Logo made by @orcheva

Sort:  

Hello @theleapingkoala

None of the medications and therapies I went through was enough to help make me a normal person again. Only my own desire and with sheer will power was I able to conquer most of the PTSD symptoms I have for good. And to be honest, I am very proud of myself for achieving that.

I was touched by your story, but I am also glad that you were strong enough to face and conquer your demons.

One thing I learnt early on about Families is that your Family will never truly know who you are, your potentials will never be recognized by them they will always see you as that helpless little child that needs constant guidance.

Live is short and everyone has only one Life, it is important for everyone to live a life that they will be proud of at the end of the day.

Keep up the good work.

@ogochukwu

Many thanks @ogochukwu for your kind words and support. I truly appreciate it :D

I am very glad that I could be of help

Its more about the quality of the posts rather than the quantity.

Something I think you'll find is NOT a problem anyone has with your posts =D

Keep up the good work!

Thank you very much my dear @nesian101 for your sweet words and constant support.
I am lucky to have friends like you on Steemit :D

Just make sure you don't try to do too much.

Leaping koala's are only human.

Thank you very much my dear PW :D

I tend to forget that sometimes. hehehe

Sometimes it's good to chew on eucalyptus, and just chill.

hahaha. a hypothetical eucalyptus would do the trick I suppose

Hey, you owe us nothing. Be yourself. Worry not about others expectations for your writings. This is your page

Many thanks for your understanding and support dear @mike.rod

You should not appologize. You are doing so much and you have busy life.

Many thanks for your understanding and support my sweet friend @nelinoeva.

These words from you and others means a lot to me :D

Hello Dr. how are you? Hey I saw your name up there at @qurator. Congrats! anyway I'm sorry to hear about your condition now. Hope that slowly you could sort things out. Apart from my interest in my indigenous stories, I'm actually in bio-tech biz - Genome project . I'm bringing this technology to my country. I guess there will be some other time I will share my experience about my DNA - Genome project. Thats all for now. Cheers!

Hello dear @madeve,
Thank you for the visit and kind words. It will all be sorted out eventually. I just feel bad for not giving my best to my readers.

Thanks for the heads up about the Genome project. I look forward to reading more about that :D

Thanks again and Hugs :D

Glas to hear that you managed it well Dr. Hope to see you more often. cheers. xx

Congratulations @theleapingkoala! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56