A story of one walk in life

in #life7 years ago

I wrote this as a response to a response on @lexikon082 post. After I read over it I thought someone else might like to read it so I thought I would just post it. Peace


photo credit: https://www.lifeskillsresourcegroup.com/independence-day-patriotism-exclusion-and-revolutionary-compassion/

Brother, when I first became a nurse I told this gal I was taking care of that if I did nothing but help one person in my life, then I would have accomplished what I had set out to do. I worked with her off an on over the course of 3 months.

I saw her a couple weeks later at a Wal-Mart doing some Christmas shopping. She was in a wheelchair and bound to an oxygen tank but in high spirits and a glow lit up in her eyes when she saw me. She had been one of those particular patients that left you wanting to just hug her every time you saw her. She was an inspiring person. Kinda like that grandmother you always wanted. I stood and talked to her and her caregiver for 10 mins or so before I wished her my best and bid her adieu.

I did not return to work for a couple of weeks after that as I had a little vacation for the holidays. When I got back to work, one of the local Hospice nurses was on the floor and ask for me by name. I responded as belonging to that name. She told me that this beautiful human being that we had been blessed to know had left us. I was a little torn, to say the least... and then she handed me an envelope. I said a quick thank you and started down the hallway. She said "Wait, aren't you going to read it?"

"Sorry, I am a little distraught right now."

So nurses are sentimental creatures (and nosy ones), so not letting her know what was in the envelope wasn't going to be accepted. I reached in my scrubs and pulled out the envelope. It felt fat and thick with a dark red wine color. I remember pulling it open...

Inside was some sketches on paper. One of a barn and another of a bird. She was a quite good sketch artist. The third picture was of me reading to her...

There was a letter enclosed explaining how much she appreciated all that I had done for her and that how much of an inspiration I had been to her. She assured me that I had helped one person and that I needed to try a little harder...

I cried just like I am crying right now... most of the time what we do in life goes unnoticed, and then there are moments like these...

I really hope you have a great evening brother and thanks for jogging up a great memory for me. She was a fantastic person and lived a fantastic life. It was my privilege to get to share the end of it with her.

Peace,
The Last Sage

Sort:  

I enyoy reading it. You deserve my vote.
Thank you,
@Yehey

Thank you so much @yehey! I see you in discord as well as always adding great posts. Thanks again and I hope your day is as great as you make it!

Peace,
The Last Sage

Such an amazing story, thank you for sharing this with us :)

Thank you for your lovely response. I always hope that people will find a little good in what I do. You have a new follower @thelastsage

Peace

Thank you so much XD

Nurses have birthed me and been so helpful to me so many times, I can't even count anymore. Such a thankless, faceless job to most patients. But I know enough "in real life" to know what you "bring home with you" anyway.

What a touching story. Thanks for your work for people and for sharing it.

Thank you for your comment. Nurses do tend to get overlooked in a lot of ways but you cherish the times you don't.

I am glad you all exist.

This post has received a 15.83 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @thelastsage.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61746.46
ETH 3447.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50