You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm English, But I Speak With A Foreign Accent

in #life6 years ago
Interesting musings on accents, definitely! I agree with your points about why accents may change. My accent doesn't reflect where I was born-and-raised because of a conscious decision that I did not want to sound that way. Oddly, my attempts to change to a more neutral accent were successful, but then I moved, by chance, to an area where people talked like that! LOL! Thanks for sharing this interesting and charming post with #steemitbloggers 😊
Sort:  

Hi @thekittygirl!

Thank you for stopping by and commenting! That's really interesting that you made a conscious decision to change your accent and then ended up moving to an area where people spoke like that!!

Can I ask why you didn't want to sound like where you were born and raised?

The accent in that particular locale was slow and twangy, one of the really heavy "Southern" accents of the US. 😛

Oooh! You see, I find that kind of accent really cool, but then I guess we all prefer things that are different to what we know or have! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68183.21
ETH 3545.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82