My Breastfeeding Journey: Back at work

in #life7 years ago

Last monday was my first day back to work after giving birth. As a breastfeeding mom, my worry is on how to maintain my milk supply especially there will be 9 or 10 hours without latch.

Latching is one factor that helps increase milk supply because the nerves signals our brain that the baby needs milk. This is the basic concept of suppy and demand. Less latch may result to decreased milk supply.

In the Philippines, there is a law where establishments are required to allot a breastfeeding station for breastfeeding moms. This also applies to office premises.

Good thing in our office there is a room near the clinic so that employees can extract breastmilk while at work during our breaks. There is a lazy boy, a small refrigerator, a sink, a sterilizer and even an electronic breast pump. I feel that the company gave value to the employee and respect mother's choices to breastfed their babies.

Sink
20180103_024049.jpg

Lazy boy for comfortable milk express
20180103_024029.jpg

Sterilizers..not just one but three
20180110_203708.jpg

Refrigerator to store milk
20180110_203803.jpg

20180110_203808.jpg

I would also like to share one instance where I was at the mall. The breastfeeding station of the mall is on the other side of the building. But my son was already hungry and crying. I asked the saleslady if I can use the dressing room and they allowed me. They were very accomodating. Also their dressing room has stool that it why I was able to comfortably feed my baby.

20161008_204300.jpg

It is heartwarming to know more and more people are being open with breastfeeding. But I cannot deny the fact that there are still some who cannot accept it. It's unfortunate to hear some stories where moms would feed or extract milk in the comfort rooms or in a small corner which is very unsanitizing and uncomfortable.

It hasn't been 100% acceptable but we are getting there. Maybe in a few years time, everyone will be knowledgeable on the importance of breastmilk to ones health and from there they will be open to it. There will be no more awkward moments when they see a breastfeeding mom.

How about you? Share your breastfeeding journey.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @thehappymommy to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58402.42
ETH 2727.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34