Why Tony Robbins Changed My Mind On Charity

in #life8 years ago (edited)


For a long while, I believed that a person should become at least reasonably wealthy before giving any money to charity at all, especially if they were younger. I've changed my mind a little while back, and it was due to something I heard Tony Robbins say in an interview.

Basically he said that you shouldn't be waiting until you are rich to give charitably, because if you won't give ten cents when you are broke, you won't end up giving tens of thousands after years of building wealth. You can certainly build wealth and give at the same time. Even 1% of your income could go to charity. and you likely wouldn't notice the difference. You have to make it a habit. I believe in this now.

Giving doesn't have to be only monetarily though, it can mean giving your time, which is for many of us is far more precious than our money. It's just important that you give something and bless someone without receiving anything directly in exchange.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59836.36
ETH 2365.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47