New Year, Best Life 2018

in #life6 years ago

New Year, Best Life 2018

15825860_1309876652398201_6002923686706433048_n.png
It has been over a week since my introduction post [link]. 2017 has been a challenging year filled with ups and downs. I have been thinking a lot about what kind of content I want to create for Steemit and how I want to present it. Of course my main focus is to create thought provoking sports content as I explained in my initial post. For the time being though I still need to figure out how frequently I can produce the content without sacrificing quality. I need time to “find my voice” if you will. But as I browse the current content created on this platform I realized that I am about to embark on a journey that is perfect for being shared here with such a great community.

293091_485275221490251_281024787_n.jpg20258140_10213713285936717_7317965407382404159_n.jpg

The first photo above was me 5 years ago. I want to say I weighed in around 165 lbs and felt great. I wasn’t a world class athlete by any means but I was in the best shape of my life. The second picture is me now. I am not sure the difference I see and feel can be gathered by the photos above. I am close to 30 lbs heavier and severely out of shape. This change isn’t surprising to me. In college I had all the time in the world to work out, not a lot of money to eat 3 full meals a day, and the motivation of beautiful college girls to impress. Now I work 40-50 hours a week on top of the 20-40 hours I put in following my dream. I have a wife that deserves my time and attention as well. We just welcomed a new puppy into our home and I try to spend time with friends and family when I can. You may be wondering where the time to eat right and workout is? Me too….

I have been using all of this as an excuse, telling myself that there will be a time where I can shift my priorities and get back into shape. That time has to be now. And so, I will be providing consistent updates on my progress including tomorrow’s post where I will discuss my goals and my approach to achieving them. This is going to be more than just a weight loss journey. I need to figure out how to maintain my health while also chasing my dream life and dedicating the time to my friends and family they deserve.

I have been using all of this as an excuse, telling myself that there will be a time where I can shift my priorities and get back into shape. That time has to be now. And so, I will be providing consistent updates on my progress including tomorrow’s post where I will discuss my goals and my approach to achieving them. This is going to be more than just a weight loss journey. I need to figure out how to maintain my health while also chasing my dream life and dedicating the time to my friends and family they deserve.

1888997_10207982522071202_4415248959601584260_o.jpg

I was going to call this “New Year New Life” but I am not entirely sure that is fair to say. I love my life and the people in it but I know that if I work hard I can bring it all together. No one thing, not my friends, family, dreams, or health need to be sacrificed. So in this series I will not only update you on my progress towards better health but also my pursuit of my best life.

Thank you for joining me on this journey and I would love to know what you are working towards in 2018!

-Brennan

Sort:  

Nice post you can do it bro!

Thanks for the support I am looking forward to a good 2018.

Thanks thefsadvisor, did you like my last art post? what you think ?

Yes I think it is really cool. I'm not so good at interpreting art so to read your thoughts on human behavior and how your painting relates to that is really cool for me!

AWww thefs thats great of you to say, I really appreciate your insight : ) we must continue this converation over time. where you from ? im from the UK

I am from the States. In the mid west not a cool place like NY or LA

ahhh is that by arizona and nevada ? las vegas ?: )

I have been to Las Vegas but I am not close to it. If you cut the US in half with a vertical line I am to the right of that line/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23