You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The boy who cried "Goat"

in #life6 years ago

I was trying to picture who Bob was from your last post and was debating going back to read that one...then as I was reading more my BS meter started going off. Not that weird stuff doesn't happen, but a freaking goat....lmao.

Will say I don't think the whole "I can't wait to get out of here" mentality is limited to small towns. Nor is the "there is nothing to do" attitude. Grew up in a town of 90k give or take with towns directly surrounding it totaling at least 600k in total population and within 10 miles of my house at least a million. So many kids still felt the same way there.

Think the "grass is greener on the other side of the fence" mentality is really strong in kids.

Sort:  

Ha ha ha, I figured you might be one of the people who would not fall for it so easily ha ha. Well Im glad you liked the story. Yeah small towns, we cant wait to leave them when we are young and then cant wait to get back there when we are old.

Like anything that gets me thinking and you always manage to do that. Sometimes you drag up memories of the past like your last post, other times about what could be in the future, then today you tossed a curveball and made me wonder what drugs you were on...lol.

Glad that you are back to posting on a more regular basis. Always enjoy your posts and then our side conversations that spur from the posts.

My Wife grew up in a small town and she still has zero desire to return to that life. Our kids have started saying they want to move to a farm and my Wife has zero interest in anything like that. The kids have no concept of what small town living would be like or the work involved with a farm. Not sure why they have it in their heads that it would be fun, but they do.

Doesn't matter as the boss doesn't want to move to a farm, so the kids can nag all they want but they don't win over my Wife. Haven't been happily married for 16 years by ignoring her wishes.

Will be interesting to see if her thoughts change when she gets older.

ha ha...interesting that the children want to move to a farm. I have noticed that this is a growing trend with the younger generation. It seems they are searching for an alternative way of life in order to avoid the stressful 9 to 5 office/worker bee environment. In my county of Norway there are more farms coming up for sale and any of the younger generation who live in cities are buying them. Needless to say they are finding it much harder work than they thought.
Always good to chat with you too my good friend : )

My kids only real experience with a farm had nothing to do with a true farm. They visited a friend of ours with my Sister and her kids. They got to shoot guns, ride 4 wheelers, ride a "hillbilly roller coaster" (a tractor pulling a seat that is on a roller frame and spins), and then have free run to hike and explore. They had a blast, but no work was really done.

"Granny" (our friends Grandma) spoiled the kids rotten. This is when they decided living on a farm would be a great idea.

To be fair, my oldest had already started talking about it long before. Saying when she grows up she wants a farm with lots of animals. She love riding horses and I haven't found an animal she doesn't love.

Doesn't surprise me that the younger generation is finding that farming is harder then they thought. A farmer has a crazy hard job for a good part of the year and they have a TON of risk is the rains don't happen when they need them too. To much rain, to little rain, to hot, to cold...so many issues outside their control. Anyone that thinks farming is the stressfree way to live needs to actually talk with a farmer about what it entails. We have farmers in our family, my Wife's side and mine so have a decent idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66785.43
ETH 3494.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83