5 Minute Reality Check...What Really Matters?

in #life6 years ago

Promise this will take 5 minutes start to finish, but please do it in order.

First off if you are watching TV or something else right now stop and be in the moment for the next 5 minutes.

Next after you click play on the video below I want you to really focus on the words of this song. Don't move on until the song is done and if you've "heard the song before"...that's fine just close your eyes and focus on the words.



Wait I said finish listening before moving on...are you sure the song is over?

To many of us forget what matters in life. It's not the material shit that you own, it's not your overpriced sunglasses (hint they all cost about 80c to make in China no matter if you pay $5 or $400 for them...same cheap crap), it's not a new car, it's not your "title" at work.

No in the end when you look back on your life it will be the relationships you had and how you touched the lives of others that you will remember. Yes this song is about a Father and his Son, but really it can be about any 2 people and their relationship. How we allow unimportant things to get in the way of the truly important ones.

Well my 5 Minutes is up, hope you got something from this 5 minute reality check.

I'm calling my 88 & 92 year old Grandparents now just to see how they are doing and try to put a smile on their faces.



Help Pay It Forward and visit the bloggers featured in this Week's PIFC Curation Contest

Sort:  

This is one of Brian and mine's favorite songs!! I used to try to get my ex to listen to it (for obvious reasons), but he was always too "busy" to ... note the irony. I'm totally on the same page as you with all of this; think it's one of the very first conversations you and I ever had, when you did that post about cleaning out your office. Life is way tooooo short to simply accumulate stuff, instead of focusing on what's really important.

Hope you enjoyed your talk with your grandparents. Mine are both gone now, but I look back with such love on the relationship that we had!

So much irony in that....lol. Sadly to many people don't realize the issue until it's way to late.

Yes, and the irony was always lost on him lol

So very true unfortunately!

And most of those relationships we make only need five minutes a day. It does not take long to say thanks or to make a new memory, or to share something with a friend, a family member, or a stranger, when the time flows forward and you did nothing you can not go back and say sorry let's try again.

It really doesn't take much time, but it does take effort. Little things make all the difference.

Really nice song @thedarkhorse. And I really wanted to say a big thank you for the delagation and upvotes. I made really good use of it while it lasted. Thank you and have a nice day.

I listened the whole 3.46 min and My dad loved it too they came over to eat . He said to tell you that they knew then how to make music 😉👍

Damn...now I have to visit my grandparents tomorrow too.

The relationships created throughout our lives are the most important things in the world, I sometimes should pay closer attention to them tbh. I have a goal in life that I'm trying my best to reach as fast as I can, this makes me not have enough time to keep up with all the bounds that I've developed throughout the years

Hi @thedarkhorse!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.244 which ranks you at #2857 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 2862).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 182 contributions, your post is ranked at #83.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 32.15% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @thedarkhorse! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 60 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72