Being A Tourist In San Francisco - Fisherman’s Wharf EditionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

My First Trip To San Francisco & Fisherman's Wharf!


I was crazy excited to be visiting the beautiful city of San Francisco, and boy let me tell you it did not disappoint one bit.

My trip started off in the East Bay city of Walnut Creek about 20 miles from the City by the Bay. 

If you have never been to the Bay area, let me suggest to stay as far away from being behind the driver seat of a vehicle as possible. 

The traffic getting in and out is a nightmare (one of the very few negatives about this city). 

The public transportation more than makes up for the horrible traffic and over-priced parking lots in the area. 

The BART or Bay Area Rapid Transit runs through the majority of the Bay area cities and is perfect to travel between destinations. 

My First Stop


My first stop was the historic Fisherman’s Wharf, home of the majority of everything you have seen on TV. 

This is the “tourist trap” area of San Francisco so expect it to be crowded, especially on the weekends.  

It is also where you will find all the T-shirt, magnet, and trinket shops located pretty much EVERYWHERE! ("My friend went to San Francisco and all I got was this stupid T-Shirt" kind of places if that’s what you are into.)


The Food!


The food choices are great in the area ranging from chain restaurants to food carts. 

I’ve heard nothing but good things about a little food cart called "The Codmother Fish and Chips," and I could not wait to stuff my face with this deliciousness. 

Trust me when I say try it out, may I suggest the garlic chips (fries) as the side. 

I couldn’t help but notice while walking around the Wharf the amount of birds on the ground eating what looked like loaves of bread. 

That is when I realized I was standing right next to the Boudin Bakery & Café, home of the famous Clam Chowder bread bowls. 

This is a must try for anyone visiting the area, besides the unfortunate who suffer from shellfish allergies that is (I’m so sorry you have to miss out). 

Entertainment 


The entertainment is everywhere you look… from street performers to a sandy beach if you would like to take a dip into the freezing Pacific Ocean waters. 

The most I was willing to do was take my shoes off and let the water run up my ankles, but make no mistake plenty of adults and children braved the cold waters (June). 

If you aren’t the adventurous type, there’s stadium style concrete seating overlooking the beach and the famous Alcatraz Island

The adventurous may want to head over to a little boat called the RocketBoat, 30 minutes of heart pounding, ear drum busting excitement. 

I completely understand if you decide to pass up on this, and chose to be on the mild side of things. 

Taking a walk along the ocean and looking at all the fishing boats and little cruise ships is another option for the faint of heart. 


{ Follow us | Steemit- @thedailyroto | Twitter- @xtramoneyblog }

{Support us | Genesis-mining - 3% Discount | Daily Fantasy Sports

Summing It Up


All-in-all it was a ton of fun and definitely something to add to the to-do list when visiting one of the most beautiful cities around! 

Keep an eye out for more stories on my adventure of Being a Tourist in San Francisco

Let Me Know Your Thoughts & Comments!

Corey | @thedailyroto



Sort:  

I live in the Bay Area and in SF 4/5 times a month, amazing place, a lot of culture for a big city.

You went to the right spots, there are also a few places to not miss next time. Call ahead a month or so and book Alcatraz, very cool. Also the stinking rose restaurant, North beach for pizza, Coit tower, the water is NOT warm lol, the food is ridiculous, especially the crab and seafood.

There is a million places to go, the boulevard cafe, amazing. The list goes on and on, you could just walk around the piers and Embarcadero and the financial district and find awesome everything!

So glad you had a great time! Upvoted!

Thanks so much for the info. You would be a great tour guide ! :) Will definitely have to check out many of the places you listed! Thanks for the upvote also. I will be posting another article called San Francisco First Trip Part Two in the next day or 2.

Great, ill make sure to read it! Lots to do in the bay area

Awesome! Yeah need all the readers we can get! Had a great time first time there.

upvoted! i wish to give at least $5 vote but my max vote only $0.04

Thanks! It's the thought that counts haha :)

no problem.

Gave you back a quarter :)

u don't need to.. but thanks.

It is always Fun at the City by the Bay.......................

I had a great time and will be back in the area more!

that's the one part of California I want to go to. I lived in souther cal for a few years but I didn't realize it was that far until I moved there. Great article, food looks awesome

Thanks so much for the comment. Yeah it is quite the distance from Southern California. But well worth the trip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27