You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anti-Virus Your Life: Yogi's Simple Survival Strategies

in #life8 years ago

You have a lot of new-agey kind of stuff that tends to make me cringe a bit but you also have some advice that I would agree with. This is a well made post though.

I have been thinking about something to filter my water as we have very hard water here and it tastes horrible. I have heard of Big Berkey on certain radio networks/podcasts and was wondering if they were any good.

I also agree with your advice about cleaning products etc. Most of them are too harsh and to be honest with the hygiene hypothesis and more focus on the importance of the microbiome one must wonder if we should be cleaning to this extent anyway.

There is also growing evidence that many people, particularly those with darker skin or those who stay in doors a lot would benefit from Vitamin D supplementation in addition to diet. I seem to come across a new study on it almost daily.

I'm curious as to how Kombucha tastes? Is it available to buy anywhere?

Also how do you get CBD without getting into trouble?

I think the whole Willhelm Reich and Orgone energy thing is complete fantasy though. I really don't get why people put any belief in it.

Anyway just because we don't agree on everything doesn't mean that I can't appreciate you post. Thank you for sharing.

Sort:  

Haha, @thecryprofiend, thanks for reading and commenting. It's much appreciated!

Yeah, the whole Wilhelm Reich thing is everybody's own take it or leave it. The motherboard article I linked is well worth a read though imo.

One of my musical idols; Kate Bush, offers undeniable sincerity in her portraying of the unofficial story, and seeing as she let me borrow her personal delay and reverb unit for my last recorded track, I'd say that we were both singing from the same hymn sheet, as it were.

But this is just my instinct on it, based on personal experience and independent research. I guess the whole new-agey thing is quite common amongst us music artists.

Is there anything else in my guide that feels new-agey to you, apart from the Reich/Orgone thing? I'd be really interested to know.

In regards to the Berkey water filter, I think it's truly fantastic. The filtered water almost feels like a totally different texture, as mad as that may sound! The taste also far exceeds any mineral water that I have consumed. Although I have yet to drink directly from a spring, which I'm sure would take some beating!

You're right, we shouldn't be so obsessed with cleaning in the industrialised, "let's sterilize everything in our path" way we do. There are natural products that do a more than good enough job when it comes to keeping things hygienic, without ravaging the precious microbiome.

That's interesting about vitamin D deficiency being linked to darker skin, I wasn't aware of a connection before. I'll be looking into it. Thanks.

How does Kombucha taste? It depends on how much sugar and tea you put in the brew, and also how long you ferment it for. Depending on these factors, it ranges from sweet, a little tangy and highly refreshing like a healthy soft drink (if ever there was such a thing.....well, now there is), to sour and vinegary like a salad dressing.

I brew it so that the end result is somewhere in the middle, as I like the taste to be slightly tart. It is a naturally carbonated finished product too. Flavoring with fruit, herbs and spices also makes for fun, and tasty experimentation!

And in regards to the CBD, I can grow it because CBD is legal here, and the plant contains almost no THC (the negligible THC content is way under the permissible legal limit)

Again, thank you for reading and commenting. I really value your interaction :)

Thanks for such a great response. I love Kate Bush BTW.

Is there anything else in my guide that feels new-agey to you, apart from the Reich/Orgone thing? I'd be really interested to know.

It's not that bad. Don't worry about it. I think we all tend to get a little bit pseudoscientific about things and your post is not as bad as some I have seen. The thing is I can't say something is BS for sure either because it would be unscientific to say that. You can't prove a negative.

Also with the rate that some things in science progress some things that seemed utterly ridiculous in in the past could well end up being true. The first guy who discovered that h.pylori causes gastric ulcers was ridiculed for many years by his peers.

Where did you buy the Berkey filter from - I think they are American - do they do international shipping?

OK will look into this CBD. Might be an interesting topic to research.

Thanks:)

Hey @thecryptofiend, yes, you're right, at the rate things are going there will probably soon be conclusive proof that The Matrix was actually a documentary, rather than a science fiction blockbuster!

I bought the water filter from Berkey U.K, as I'm London based. Where are you from? :)

Lol yes. There is the scientific hypothesis (hard to test) that it is more probable that we are living in a simulation.

I'm in the UK. I didn't know they had UK sales too. Will check it out.

Kombucha is a miracle !!
I started a delivery service for purified water in Bali called h2oBali because of personal health issues and extremly bad water in Indonesia. Personally I believe it's the most important to make sure your water is "clean" ! We ran bankrupt and killed by the "Chinese " water mafia . Long story !

Well even clean water can be quite difficult to drink if it is very hard.

Oh well there are many different ways to purify water and it depends what technology is used to filter heavy metals and e-coli and other deadly Bacteries out of water . You will get either reverse osmosis or distilled ( not so good because flat ) or purified water . None of those are considerd "hard" but clean . The so called "mineral water" is usually only treated with ultraviolet radiation therefore most heavy metals still packed up in those horrible plastic bottles . I should write an article about this topic because I spent 5 years of my life to study this fascinating element of life !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63849.10
ETH 3132.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89