You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Almost Quit Steemit

in #life8 years ago

It's really difficult for people who have not suffered from depression to understand what it is like.

The shame combined with the continuing perception of stigma only serves to make it worse.

You are very brave coming out about it like this. Personally I always start to find my mood declining in autumn and is worst in winter. I now use a light box in winter as I feel there is definitely a seasonal component. It doesn't stop the depression but it helps. Also exercise helps for me.

Scientists are still studying the biological cause of depression but have narrowed it down to the hippcampus and its neurones.

There is a lot of research in this area. The hippocampi are reduced in size and activity in depressed subjects with general reduction in cell turnover and lower levels of nerve derived growth factor. It is still not clear if this is a result of depression or the initial causative factor.

Other areas of research include chronic inflammatory processes and the interaction between the immune system and the microbiome (bacteria in the gut). Hopefully more treatment options will open up in the near future.

When Robin Williams committed suicide, I was devastated and heartbroken. But I thought that one good thing would come out of it. I hoped that people would finally wake up and realize that this is a serious illness that kills people.

Yes that struck me hard too. I grew up watching him in movies. I never knew he suffered from depression. It goes to show that no matter how much success you have it doesn't insulate you from depression.

I hope you feel better soon and take comfort in the knowledge that you are not the only one.

All the best and take care:)

Sort:  

Thanks for taking the time to respond, crypto. Yeah, I really hope they learn more about it. Anti-depressants help but a cure would be nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65178.97
ETH 3261.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68