You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: From Believer to Atheist (My personal journey and my problems with organised religion)

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Appreciate your bravery and candor.

Thank you.

Religious people flock together. What do atheists typically do? They keep quiet and to themselves because it's scary to go against the grain and face judgement from those who ironically preach that only god can judge.

Yes very true.

So in solidarity I stand with you. I shed my religion nearly a decade ago. I also shed vast amounts of shame, guilt and worry. Feeling those things because I was considered inadequate or a disappointment in god's eyes for merely being human. For being myself.

Exactly.

I remember Christopher Hitchens making some of the same points you made here. He really was an inspired thinker.

Sadly now passed away at quite a young age.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45