BREAKING NEWS: Incident On London Bridge - People Stabbed & Run Over?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I wasn't intending on posting today but it appears there is some kind of incident happening in London. Some people have been stabbed and pedestrians may have been hit by a white van on London Bridge.

There is very little clear information right now. The Local Emergency services have declared a major incident.

Hopefully this is not another terrorist incident.

There is a live updating BBC page here:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/uk-40147014

Screenshot 2017-06-03 23.41.45.png

Let's keep London in our thoughts and hope this is not another terrorist incident.


UPDATE BBC reporting more than one fatality. Metropolitan Police has tweeted this and asked people to share:

Screenshot 2017-06-04 00.03.48.png

Live NEWS FEED - Thanks to @kyra-kristian


Screenshot 2017-06-04 00.27.16.png


Updates on Twitter from around 00.55

Screenshot 2017-06-04 00.59.10.png

Ambulance and Emergency Services are requesting that people ONLY USE THEM IN REAL EMERGENCIES (should go without saying) due to how busy they are.


They just mentioned this on the radio:

Screenshot 2017-06-04 01.47.25.png

There may be 3 more attackers on the run (in addition to those shot dead) according to Twitter reports.

I will need to go to bed shortly so may not be able to update again until tomorrow. I don't think we will get any firm answers tonight anyway.


IN response to this from @recursive:

Screenshot 2017-06-04 10.48.08.png

Just to confirm the liquid reward for this post will be donated to charity as I said in the comments earlier and I will add in my own donation.


Sort:  

this happened literally right on my doorstep, about 50 metres away, everything still cordened off, terrible.

Let us know.

Please keep us up to date with anything you hear 👍

Just a lot of shouting, big police presence, seems like they have everything under control at the moment, scary to think i walk over that bridge almost everyday.

It's crazy. Good that you avoided it! Take care.

WHAT HAPPENED LOG1C

this literally was fake. google crisis solutions.

Wow! Hope you are OK! Hopefully it was just some kind of accident and normal incident.

Please consider to deny the reward for such a news...

Yes you are right - It is too late to decline though - I was in a rush to get it out so didn't even think. I can give the liquid rewards to charity though and make a donation myself.

sounds perfect. btw - thanks for starting the post - I missed the TV news today - nice to have mainstream events on steemit as well

NP I thought people might be on Steemit and miss it. Also some people on Steemit are in London too I think (obviously logic but others too).

Aren't you able to downvote your own post, essentially forfeting payment? Thought that was an option.

He said he'll donate to charity, are you more concerned about post payouts or human lives?

I was responding to a previous comment... Thought I could offer a solution. I'm sorry that triggered you.

No and it might end up hiding the post if gets flagged a lot which might make people think it is fake or something. I think it is better to just give the money to charity.

Oh I see. Then yes, that may be the best option 😉

Can you edit the top of your post to mention the donation? Right now it sounds recklessly opportunistic.

I'm sorry you feel that way and I find it offensive that you would even suggest that. I have added something to the bottom of the post.

I'm just telling you what first impression your post gives. As this comment thread suggests, I'm not an isolated case. No need to take that personally, the remark is about the post, not about the poster. I'm just providing feedback. Note that I haven't downvoted your post or anything. I would have downvoted you if I suspected it was intentional, which I don't.

OK but I think you should know by now it is no the kind of thing I would do. Just be sensitive to how it sounds when you put it that way.

Mainstream media along the governments of terrorized countries are simply not adressing this problem correctly. It's becoming sensationalism and profit for media agencies. The more bloody the horific event is the more cover and views they get - profit in marketing et cetera. On the other side governments are just watching and giving condolences to each other, they don't do anything to integrate foreginers full time into their system. Stronger cooperation and less manhunt by the media is needed for this matter to be resolved so Europe can finally see some brighter days.

You brought up a point that I find quite interesting, regarding working to better integrate foreigners. Assuming that this event was an act of terrorism, and that it isn't of domestic origin, and that the motivation is based on idiology and history, the individuals likely arrived with the intention of causing harm from the beginning. In this case it is incredibly unlikely that any amount of integration with the local culture would change the outcome. It is very difficult, and often nearly impossible, to change deeply rooted beliefs, especially ones that people are willing to kill and die for. I'm not saying that it would hurt to try though, since there would certainly be other benefits that would come along with making it easier to assimilate when trying to start a new life in a new and strange place. And yes, the typical media coverage usually stirs up more panic and hysteria than necessary, which can lead to emotional and sometimes tragic actions being taken by individuals or groups that just enforce harmful stereotypes and perpetuate the cycle of hate and violence.

I agree - I think the only response to terrorism can be a society based on values and happyness and not money and slavery ... - as it is now - we have terrorists in our country because they manage to pay someone - aka to corrupt - and enter the country illegally with bombs and army...

me and another steemit user have already started a discussion about this topic there

https://steemit.com/life/@lucashunter/re-thecryptofiend-breaking-news-incident-on-london-bridge-people-stabbed-and-run-over-20170603t225433376z

hope to see you commenting there.. thank you

It's a difficult situation - if they don't cover it people will complain understandably but by covering it they help to do some of the terrorists work.

It's impossible to not cover it but making sensationalism out of it is becoming a free marketing for terrorism.

True this is what they want but it is hard because if they didn't spread the news others would so it would still get out. I agree they could make it less sensational though.

Live video.......

The guy they are talking to is reporting hearing gunfire.

This is ridiculous @thecryptofiend Manchester only suffered a few days ago, I caught this news last night if this is more terrorists attacking this is getting out of hand. Stay safe people

Let's keep London in our thoughts and hope this is not another terrorist incident

I hope this isn't another terror attack just some few days after the Manchester terror attack. No where is safe anymore. May God have mercy.

anywhere it's safe... the terrorists have short life... believe me

they are like plants without water if the Occident can only understand how are terrorists gaining money they need for living and attacks...

and we are not far from having our national intelligence already fully awareness of all these financial system terrorist have...

I hope so, Terror is everywhere, and it is going to take our collective effort to flush those good for nothing terrorist out.

A major problem is they easily get into ordinary people's head to make them carry out their evil assignments

This major problem is caused by a bad economy, bad economics and wrong metrics.

Our society is currently thinking too much - I am doing abstraction to entity level - to money and GDP.

Countries that are basing their economy on happiness have no problems with terrorists.. WHY - did you asked you until now - if yes... I tell you!!

Because they are living for a good life - for peace and common good - who is happy is INCORRUPTIBLE !! terrorist cannot enter the country paying half millions pound to the frontier controller...

this is the way forward... otherwise.. terror will be the next government.. we should follow the example of Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Finland, Iceland ...

is our country actually doing something ... I don't see it... do you?

I suppose you live in England as well

I hope so too. Could just be a set of unfortunate incidents that are being linked due to heightened tensions will have to wait and see.

Wait and see. Those are the right words. I am clued to CNN for their breaking news. Thanks for breaking the news here first.

NP - the BBC feed is reporting more than one fatality right now.

It been confirmed as a terror attack on CNN.. 1 person is already confirmed dead. Watching their breaking news now.

Really appreciate the updates on this, very sad day for the world...madness must stop.

I am RESTEEMING this to our new Twitter account for Steemit Blogger Central...get the word out.

View your post on Twitter here:
https://twitter.com/steemitbc

Seems like there is no end to this but hopeful at some stage here this craziness ceases. Just got it posted, everyone is in our prayers here at the house

Had to redo the post by the way, seen your follow and retweet, some reason it wasn't linking right so I had to snatch your top pic and kind of redo it manually, wasn't giving the right link on my end. Its fixed now if you want to retweet, your link here is provided and working now

Anytime my friend, I follow your blogs a lot so its an honor to help out and get the word out about your post here and its an important one so hoping it gets outsiders up to par on whats going on. Need anymore posts just say the word...not a worry here

Omg!!! its really big breaking news. I have a video for all of you.

Thanks. Can't really see anything there other than the ambulance and people being moved on. Will need to wait for more formal reports.

What is all these? Should people be scared to leave their homes? First manchester, now this...should leaders start considering travel bans?

I don't know. Not sure travel bans will help if they are home grown terrorists. I think some kind of intervention to pick out people at risk of becoming terrorists like mental health screening would be more effective.

Is incredible the life that we are living, whatever happens we are with the heart in the mouth, thinking that it can be an attack, we live prisoners of our homes, while these unscrupulous people live free and happy to torment people.
I hope this does not have an end as nasty as the previous one, here in Argentina you still do not know anything.
Thank you very much dear friend @thecryptofiend for sharing this information.

Thanks - I hope it is not too!

The news has just arrived in Argentina and it involves three simultaneous attacks, four blocks in the round. It seems to be somewhat organized

Thanks for passing it on.

Thank you that's great!

Looks like they are now responding to a few different incidents :(

Yes. Few things and armed police appear to be out on the streets form what I understand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69558.81
ETH 3330.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74