Why I Don't Celebrate The 4th...

in #life7 years ago

fireworks.png

Believe me, It's not because I am not patriotic, I am very much so. I was both in the Military and Law Enforcement. Because of this, I have crippling anxiety and PTSD. I'm sure some of my Military buddies can attest to how horrible this is.

I'm shaking like a leaf and can hardly type. The fireworks, I know they are fireworks, but my brain screams, "Gunfire, get down!" That whole fight or flight response.

So... I don't celebrate, I don't go outside, I most definitely do not watch the show. Plus, here in Las Vegas, you really never know if it is a gunshot or not. So much crime...

Anyway, Happy Independence Day to my fellow Americans or Happy Treason Day for my English friends. 😁

Thanks,
Michael Garcia a.k.a. @TheCrazyGM (Don't forget tomorrow is Game Day!)
Michael_Garcia.png

Sort:  

Happy independence day, @thecrazygm. I too have PTSD, although not from the military. I can respect the awfulness of it.

I can understand you. Not that I served in the military I'm a pacifist, but fireworks are truly disturbing. I hope you can overcome your traumatas and live a peaceful life! Happy gamers day

Thanks for your service, I always think about how it must be to someone like yourself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60939.25
ETH 3370.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47