A Plea for Help

in #life7 years ago (edited)

donate_noun_125553_cc.png

Open Cry for Help

I didn't want to have to break down and do this but I am in a position that I could use the help. As some or most of you may know I broke my back ten years ago and had to have emergency surgery to put my spine back together. I had broken L5 and blew out the discs above and below it working as a correctional officer. The surgery was a failure as far as that goes and I have been in constant hell ever since.

This last weekend I fell several times and retraumatized the area in my lower back. I was rushed to the ER where I was admitted and spent three days. They sent me home with a shiny new wheelchair that, believe it or not, is fairly comfortable. After all of that and over one thousand images of my spine later there was little to nothing they could do to help with the paralysis I started to suffer. Now my lower half is mostly useless.

I have an appointment with a neurologist and a neurosurgeon in the coming week, but I am in dire financial need, for a couple of reasons. First, while I was away my rent became late and the stupid apartment complex filed for eviction. That was paid when I returned and am no longer at risk of being homeless but it did put me in a bind as the late fees were absolutely fucking ridiculous. Second, even though I am disabled and have Medicare, it only covers 80%. The other 20% comes out of pocket. I paid for the wheelchair while I was there and that also put me in a financial bind.

Now I do not have the copay for the hospital stay, which was $1,058 and some change. Nor do I have the copay for both neuro doctors I have to see.

So, instead of doing a GoFundMe or one of those ridiculous places that take 20% or more of your donations I thought I would ask the Steem community for help. Any and all donations would be welcome as I am in a bad spot. If you would prefer to donate via another method I can take several different alt-coins and PayPal.

  • Litecoin: LZFZgb972pRgSz1ocPakSuEX7GLbp5oZrx
  • Bitcoin: 1GW6jmMFFQbTR8veJKbXVv2HYdTbiu5byE
  • Ethereum: 0xEE6AaFb6ad9a23C9b386e7fBb55D9d65feb0aB23
  • Steem: @thecrazygm
  • Paypal: https://www.paypal.me/TheCrazyGM
  • I'll also take a swift kick in the ass to keep me going.

Thanks in advance to all you awesome steemians,
Michael Garcia a.k.a. @TheCrazyGM
Michael_Garcia.png

Verification

verification

Sort:  

Upvote for you.

Upvoted, and hope you feel better, and get better soon.

Wow, this community is awesome! Thank you, everyone, for your kind words. Instead of commenting on each and everyone I upvoted so you know I have at least seen your good wishes.
A few things, the doctor did recommend yoga, so that's on the todo list.
I am positive and have been making light of a bad situation, optimism does help.

Best of luck.

I hope the steemit community can make this happen.

For you and to let the rest of us look good.

So sorry to hear. :( Sending and thinking positive thoughts your way.

Sorry to hear that. Get well soon :)

wow i am about to interview my Paralyzed across the street neighbor who broke his back in a surfing accident age 27 years ago and since then hes talked on stage for Tony Robbins back in the 90s as a Motivationa Speaker and he wouldd have bbig crowds of people and do stunts like skydiving AFTER the accidengt he skydived while paralyzed to inspire peopel ad woudl show the video and stuff and he ran a multi million dollar graphic design compaya nd now hes iin a lot of pain and also cant compete with the freelance stuff now he was makin bank back in thedot com boom! graphic design was a huge business then! hah and he is a HUGE inspiration and i wana show @darthnava about this story oof Rick y neighbor and Rick has SuCh a good attitude about his disability and also pioneered some court battles to fight for disabled rights serious ADA stuff and and u guys should all create a steemit supprt grppup for disabled peopel who cant work normal jobs and NEED work at home opportunities

and now that steemit has show a lot of love please consider paying it forward and giving some upvotes to my Steemit #Africa friends @tj4real and @xpency and @ortigas100 and @mcsaam they need inspiration to keep bringing more steemit users and also go upvvote all the struggling africans on Steemit #africa here http:///www.steemit.com/trending/Africa and show some love with some upvotes everyone :) encouraging africans to join steemit can change our world in SUCH an amazing way

I'm sorry to hear about your problems, but good luck with getting the money! I've sent you an upvote. It might not help a lot, but all upvotes add a little bit at least, so hopefully you get a decent amount of steem from this!

Hey @thecrazygm - I'm resteeming this to my tribe but I'm going to post a #payitfoward post on your behalf too. Hang in there, love!

Hope you get sorted out. I will share this around and send you something when I get my next payout. All the best.

I pray for your recovery. Glad you're reaching out to this community for help. I also applaud the members of Steemit for supporting and encouraging stories like this :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15