I quit my full-time job so I could work in & around cryptocurrency.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

My family & friends think that I'm crazy.

That's how I know that I'm doing something right.

My name is Chris, and I just quit a very well-paying marketing job on Wall Street to pursue a career working with Bitcoin & cryptocurrency.

The thing is, since we're in such early days of this phenomenon, I really don't know what that "career" looks like yet. So, I've decided to just wade in to the community and see what comes of it.

Let's back up just a bit. For the past 18 years, I have been working in marketing for media and technology companies. I've had some pretty interesting jobs - including head of marketing for the UFC (yes, the cagefighting thing), TheBlaze (yep, Glenn Beck's company), TheStreet (my former boss Jim Cramer is a great guy - photo of him & I below), and Y-Combinator startup OneMonth.com (where incidentally I got to share an office for a while with the awesome Blockstack team).

IMG_5659.JPG

I'm a marketer who knows how to tap into emotions using digital and traditional mediums. And, I think I'm a good business leader who has done some great work guiding startups through tough times. I've had a colorful and exciting career thus far, to say the least.

Earlier this year, I fell down the rabbit hole, took the red pill, and all of those other metaphors that we use for that magic moment when you realize that the cryptocurrency movement is an unstoppable revolution for humanity.

So, last month, I turned to my beautiful wife and said, "Honey, I'm quitting my job and I'm going to try to figure out how to spend my days just thinking about Bitcoin & cryptocurrencies." She had been living with me through the last few months of HODL'ing, so she didn't even bat an eyelash. She knew that I had to do this. And, here we are.

(It helps that I've also been a libertarian since the mid-90s, and I see Bitcoin as the best chance we've ever had to escape the tyranny of fiat currency, and tyranny in general, in the US. But that's a separate conversation that we can have.)

OK, so, I'm about a week into my career in crypto. What have I been doing so far?

  • I'm pretty good at making connections. I've connected with some pretty high profile Bitcoin personalities and P.R. gurus and I'm working with all of them to develop some interesting media coverage opportunities with financial news outlets as well as mainstream news networks. I think that it's important that we control the story over the next few months, and I want to try to play a part in that.
  • I've started a YouTube channel dedicated to explaining the very high-level aspects of cryptocurrency to people who aren't yet involved. You can check it out here.
  • I put together a website where I'm offering to speak to anyone, any time about cryptocurrency. I want to connect with people ranging from zero-experience with Bitcoin up to Ethereum developers so that I can understand this revolution from all points of view. I've had some really awesome & eye-opening conversations so far.
  • I'm developing a webinar strategy for easing the mainstream folks into Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies by addressing all of their objections head-on. For instance, "it's just for criminals", "it has no value", stuff like that. I'll be rolling that out in a week or two and trying to get as many people as possible into it.
  • I've been talking to several ICO companies about advisor/strategist roles. I've actually been advising one - Horizon State - which is developing a blockchain solution for elections (ICO is live right now, btw). That one is pretty cool, but I'm also realizing that doing marketing for most ICOs is really more about targeting you guys and isn't really hitting my passion point of growing awareness and acceptance of cryptocurrency (no offense).
  • I'm starting to hit every cryptocurrency-related meetup that I can find. Actually flying myself out to Chicago in a couple of weeks to hear Andreas Antonopoulos in-person and meet members of the Chi-town crypto community.
  • Last but not least, I'm starting to create content for Steemit and loving it.

The most valuable thing that I've done so far is have conversations. Lots and lots of conversations with anyone and everyone. These conversations are making me realize a couple of important things:

  1. Nobody knows where cryptocurrencies are headed, but that's not slowing anyone down one bit.
  2. The knowledge gap between us (the ones that live & breathe cryptos) and the rest of the world is growing rapidly. (I'd really love to do something about this.)
  3. The rest of the world is getting more and more curious about us every day, but there's something holding them back from jumping into Bitcoin.

These are problems that I'd like to help solve. I'm going to keep pushing forward, having conversations, and trying to figure out the best ways to apply my experience in this brave, new world. I have no idea where this road will lead, but I know for sure that I'm in the right place.

Thanks for reading and for your support! If you're reading this and feel like you want to bounce some ideas around, email me at the address below. I have lots of ideas, I love to talk, and I learn from every conversation that I have.

To be continued!
Chris "Crypto" Blechschmidt
[email protected]
My LinkedIn

Photo on 10-16-17 at 6.21 PM.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @thechriscrypto! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to the brave new world! I joined Steemit about a week ago and there is a lot to learn and discover, so I hope you enjoy the journey :)

Thanks so much!

@thechriscrypto - I think you'll be able to look back on this moment and realize you made a good decision. I had a moment like that back in 2006 when I went into business for myself but at the time I was still questioning my own sanity.

I hope others realize as we do how important technical disintermediation / decentralization is. Welcome to Steemit!

Such a great story! Thanks @zoidsoft.

Follow Max Keiser. Meet up on his DASH across America - "Great American Pilgrimage", or get on his programme on RT. He is how I got into crypto, most compelling communicator about economics I have ever seen.

Thanks @jamesmartin, I am a Keiser fan and hope to meet him one day.

This sounds like my dream come true. I am so sick of my job, and want to work in this industry in some capacity. The biggest problem I have though, is I have not gone to collage, and I don't understand coding. I am going to continue to seek out new ways I could get my foot in the door though. Glad you are here, and I wish you all the best. Following you!

@the-vile-maxim I'm not a developer either! But you should do what I did and start taking free "Intro to Programming" courses on edx.org. It's a great way to start understanding things. You can do this! I want to work with you one day.

I am going to check it out! Thanks for the encouragement and info!

Very nice introduction. I think you will love it here. Plenty of of great people who share their crypto wisdom with pleasure :)

Thank you @picklejar, yes this is a great place to learn and create new ideas.

Great introduction. Good to have you here!

So awesome that you are doing this full time now. I hope you are successful in making contributions to the crypto-revolution with your marketing skills.

Following you now!

Thanks for the support & the follow!

Welcome to steemit! That is absolutely amazing, Chris. Sounds like the right step for sure, it's one of the most exciting areas to be involved in. Looking forward to hearing more from you and the adventure that lies ahead. I'm using this platform myself to share and explain some of the more technical terms to the cryptonauts. You're welcome to visit my blog and have a look ;)

Awesome @cryptonik! Thanks for the kind words and I will definitely check out your blog and give you a follow.

Awesome, Chris!

Hey , how are you ?
welcome to steemit @thechriscrypto
following you now. :D
follow me back pls.

Welcome to Steemit, Chris. Quitting your job to get involved in cryptocurrencies, that's brave of you. Wish you all the luck. Steem on. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56587.45
ETH 2991.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15