Judgement - Part 2

in #life6 years ago

1207710885_1.jpg
Image from 1986 series Matlock

The other question I would like to ask about my gay friend's statement (see last post) is why does judgement from others bother you if you believe you are not in the wrong? If you don't think what you are doing is wrong and is 100% normal and not in any way morally wayward then why does someone's criticism bother you?

For example, I'm a horror fan guilty as charged and we all know of the dark side of horror film-making. Horror films are notoriously known for their violence and occasional nudity and while I try to stay clear of those films I often receive criticism from other Christians about my affection for the genre. Now while you would think that I would feel like their judgement is completely unjustified, I don't always feel that way. Sometimes I get angry when people call me out on this because I know there are some places I shouldn't go for entertainment.

This feeling can only be attributed to one particular complex emotion and that emotion is called "conviction." I occasionally feel conviction about the things I set in front of my eyes. If someone says what you're doing is wrong, while it isn't their place, maybe deep down you also feel you're wrong even if just a little. Now I understand there are times where you're right yet someone wants to argue the fact and it can be irritating but if it pisses you off that much then maybe you should re-examine what you're defending.

I won't lie people who loudly disagree with my beliefs can be annoying but ultimately I know in my heart what the truth is so I don't let it provoke me to the point of jumping down someones throat. People generally don't like being told the truth, they have to find it and let it convict and change them. I thank whoever took the time to read this and I hope it was food for thought. God bless!

Sort:  

Congratulations @theblondeguy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @theblondeguy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44