Judgement

in #life6 years ago

9862480_orig.jpg
Image from 2005 film The Exorcism Of Emily Rose

A while ago I had a conversation with an openly gay man about his feelings toward Christians, he said that they were the most judgmental people on the planet so he judges them "Right the f--k back." Now as obviously contradictory as that statement is, it does bring some questions to mind.

For instance, why do we as Christians feel so obligated to tell others how to live their lives? I understand that the Bible tells us to spread the Gospel but I'm starting to feel like we are going about it the wrong way. We have to realize two things, that judgement belongs to God and Him alone and that it is impossible to change peoples' minds and hearts on our own.

The renewing of ones mind can't come from us because only God can truly change a person's life, we are only meant to invite them to participate and find out for themselves. This force-feeding approach doesn't work, it just breeds contempt from the person your trying to save.

I will come out and say that with all my heart I believe every word that God said, including how he feels towards things like homosexuality. God doesn't hate homosexuals, he simply finds the act to be a defiance against his will which goes for all types of sin. However using this as your opening line when trying to get someone to see the truth is dangerous and could permanently ruin your chances with saving that soul. You can't tell them what they're doing wrong, they have to figure that part out for themselves. Just show them Jesus and let them find their way personally, it's not your job to change people, you are meant to simply show them the door.

I love all of my friends no matter who they are or what they do as a good Christian should and I never want to come off as condemning for any reason because it is not my place. I pray whoever reads this understands the importance of this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44