Gratitude Blog # 8 (Laughter)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

"Humanity has unquestionably one really effective weapon—laughter. Power, money, persuasion, supplication, persecution—these can lift at a colossal humbug—push it a little—weaken it a little, century by century, but only laughter can blow it to rags and atoms at a blast. Against the assault of laughter nothing can stand.
Mark Twain

"A day without laughter is a day wasted."
Charlie Chaplin

I could go on and on with the quotes related to laughter. Of course, everyone knows the saying "Laughter is the best medicine" of which the source is quite murky. From my search I found this:

"The same idea is found in Proverbs 17:22, ‘A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth the bones."

The Oxford Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
© 2006

Enough of the quotes.

I think we can all agree that laughter truly lifts the spirit. Even when we are experiencing hard times, a joke or funny anecdote can be a healing salve for the heart and soul. I've always been fascinated by people who are able to get on stage and lay it out there for a laugh. I don't know that I could do it but luckily in my line of work it's a bit similar. I'm often cutting up with my guests and trying to make their time with me more enjoyable and relaxing. It has the added benefit of making my job seem less like actual work.

I recently watched a Netflix comedy special that was quite cathartic. Hannah Gadsby's "Nanette" is definitely one to watch. It's a very thought provoking stand up routine but the reason I mention it specifically is because of one bit she touched on that struck me deeply. To paraphrase what she said, she didn't want to continue doing standup because of the self-deprecating humor which is akin to self abuse. I was awestruck since so often what we find humor in is at the expense of someone else and most often ourselves. While it's truly important to laugh we must remember to be kind and you should stand up and say it's not okay when it's not kind.

What do you think?

Comments are greatly appreciated and I look forward to the dialogue and try to respond to all. As always, thanks for reading.

Peace and laughter to all!man-1207687_1280.png Pixabay

Sort:  

Upvoted , kryptonia id @jamescrusader

💡 @the-witty-waiter get upvote on 93% (VotingPower 9586.56).
The post can fall into a two-day rating and get a reward in the case of Upvote the post

Rules for calling bot:

  • Anyone can leave an appeal under the author of the post, which is in my subscribers.
  • The bot can be called no more than 3 times in 24 hours.
  • Upvote on 93%, if the Voting Power is more than 93%. Upvote on 83% if the Voting Power is between 92% and 85%. Upvote 73% if below 85%.
  • After the Upvote of the comment, the bot votes with more VotingPower.

Laughter is a good medicine to the soul. We just need to surround ourselves with people who make us laugh and not those who do otherwise

Very true but sometimes you can't help but to interact with negativity and you need to be able to shield yourself

I like the positive attitude of your post, I like to smile even if i have some problems. :)

I think it helps make the problems seem smaller

whaa? you quoted my fav thinker ... mark twain and the bible?! whoa just heard he was a plagiarist the other day LOL are you really a witty waiter? thats cooool!! :)

interesting question too, i was watching a bad comedy (partially) / zombie movie and it was a bad one too. there was an armless woman who was getting joked about and they had her try to pick up keys during a whole skit. i felt horrible and did not find it funny at all. i know some may, and i dunno i just thought how is this empowering to women in her situation?

just me tho, and maybe she really wanted the exposure and acting part ...

I did not hear that about Mark Twain. Wow! Mind blown.

I really am a waiter and I think I'm pretty witty. LoL. My customers seem to like me so I'm good with that.

I think we all need to take care of what we joke about. My main concern with laughter is that we put ourselves down way too often to get a laugh and I want to be mindful of that and work on respecting myself more. I think with the self care that we will learn to pay it forward with how we interact with others.

I always have said that if you can't laugh at your self then don't laugh at others.

I do agree that most laughs come at the expense of someone else. I think its important to not cross that line that your cracking jokes that humiliates others to a point it causes them pain.

Nice idea for a post.

Thank you. I'm the first one to laugh at myself. I'm one of the funniest people I know. You're gaining in ranking quickly 😬

Laughter is the best medicine. It helps with blood pressure and weight loss. It could explain why i was skinny as a rail in my twenties and thirties - my friends and roommates were always doing something for me to laugh at.

I know what you mean. I'm still skinny as a rail. We might have had similar roommates and friends. Did your friends tell tall tales as well?

They mostly drank too much and slept around a lot

You got a 13.89% upvote from @automation courtesy of @the-witty-waiter! This is a service sponsored by @yehey. Please consider voting @yehey for Witnes. Use this short URL link https://on.king.net/witness simply click and vote, this will redirect to Steem Connect for secure connection.

Interested to earn daily? Delegate Steem Power to receive 90% payout rewards. Use this link https://on.king.net/automation to delegate SP to @Automation.
If you need an extra upvote, join us at https://SteemChat.com discord server.

Have a lovely day.
@Automation - Keep Steeming for a better future.

Siempre les digo a mis hijos y esposo, un día sin risa es un día perdido y empiezo a reír como loca, ellos empiezan a reír y a jugar con distintas formas de reír, y nos divertimos un poco, la terapia de la risa es una buena terapia, y me divierte, un abrazo @the-witty-waiter.
celinavisaez de kryptonia

Congratulations @the-witty-waiter ! You received a 24.51% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your task of 1250 SUP Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.*Join free here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66543.69
ETH 3327.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71