Gratitude Blog # 2

in #life6 years ago

I started thinking about this last night and I knew that my second day of gratitude would be thinking about family.

I'm a very lucky guy. I have always been surrounded by a great family. My mom is one of eight children and I have two younger brothers myself. I also have twenty-one first cousins, about thirty-five second cousins, and I have lost count at fourty-plus third cousins. This is what I call my immediate family descended from my grandparents. I realize that I'm not using the correct terms for the second and third cousins but I'm from the south and it works for me.

My family has always been super close and my earliest memories are my brothers and I, and my cousins running through the sand dunes, playing on the long defunct military batteries (or forts as we liked to call them) , building our own forts around the old go-cart track near our house, or just riding our bicycles and swimming in the creeks or the ocean all around our little island community. I had several mom figures in my life and if one of them told you to do something, it better be done or else. My cousins were like my brothers and sisters and best friends all rolled into one.

When I became an adult and started a bit of a nomadic life, I always found myself in a new family unit of friends. I've lived in Atlanta, DC, St.Croix, New Orleans, Chicago, downtown Savannah, GA and twice in Key West. I always managed to find my soul family and my favorite by far was definitely Key West. The community there reminded me of home but the great part was because of less history they allowed me to create an identity and be who I was meant to be without the preconceptions. Even when I was getting into a little bit of trouble, I received unconditional acceptance and support no matter what. I still keep in touch with many of them over the last twenty years and more.

My second favorite soul family bears a mention as well because it gave me one of my dearest friends of all time. The Savannah crew was definitely a fun bunch and was often causing quite a bit of mischief, although, it was never my fault. Most of them will say the same but they lie. I was the more innocent and naive of the bunch and often the follower, not the leader. I could go into details but that's a whole different topic than what I'm relaying now. The guilty shall remain anonymous.

I could go on and on about my family, related or drawn to, but I think you get the gist of where my gratitude lies today. I'm a little bit late posting but it was a long night at work.

Until next time, peace!man-1207687_1280.png Pixabay

Sort:  

Congratulations @the-witty-waiter! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

wow!! you have a big family, my family is more small but same that you, i love all them and they are so important to me, thanks for the gratitude post.
from Kryptonia @millerjtaipe

Congratulations @the-witty-waiter ! You received a 14.33% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your task of 1000 SUP Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.*Join free here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

family is everything. nice of you of dedicating your gratitude to them.

great post. gratitude to the family.

You got a 14.00% upvote from @automation courtesy of @the-witty-waiter! This is a service sponsored by @yehey. Please consider voting @yehey for Witnes. Use this short URL link https://on.king.net/witness simply click and vote, this will redirect to Steem Connect for secure connection.

Interested to earn daily? Delegate Steem Power to receive 90% payout rewards. Use this link https://on.king.net/automation to delegate SP to @Automation.
If you need an extra upvote, join us at https://SteemChat.com discord server.

Have a lovely day.
@Automation - Keep Steeming for a better future.

Yes you are right. We must be thankful to our family as always. They are always there for us no matter what.

You are a very loving and grateful person. You really love your family. I appreciate that so much.

Family is the best all we can have i am glad to hear that you have a nice family.

Some you are born to and some you choose. I'm definitely blessed many times over.

howdy today @the-witty-waiter! I love reading this post and about your memories growing up surrounded by such a strong family, what a blessing! wonderful post my friend!

Thank you. It's going to be a challenge to write about something everyday but a great exercise as well.

you can do it witty waiter, you are witty but you are also
charming, intelligent and chatty.
I have confidence in you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14