The 90/10 principle of life

in #life7 years ago (edited)

John is a job doing professional, who was sitting alone in a park, trying to remove a stain on his shirt with a finger and simultaneously cursing god.
John- My wife left me today with our daughter, why me god?
My Boss scolded me for arriving late at the office, what wrong have i done to you god?
Why you have created us when you couldn't keep us happy?
Mr Trevolta, a grand old man was walking by and was slow enough to hear John cursing god.

Mr. Trevolta- what's wrong with you son?
John- Am sorry sir but I am in no mood to talk.
Mr. Trevolta- Stress is one of the most heaviest things on earth, share the load with me or someone else.
John- You wont understand what I have been through today.
Mr. Trevolta- Well, I have become a great grand father this week. Old enough to understand almost anything unless its
rocket science.
John- Congratulations sir!
You see the stain on my shirt sir? It all happened this morning.
Mr. Trevolta- I believe it is amongst the 10% of your life.
John- What do you mean by that?
Mr. Trevolta- In life 90% what happens with us depends on how we react and 10% things aren't in our control. For
example this stain.
John- That sounds like rocket science to me.
My daughter knocked over a cup of tea at my shirt today morning while having breakfast. Screaming at her, I ran
upstairs hurriedly to take my jacket. Coming back at the table, I realised that I have left my briefcase up, I had to run back again, took the bag, ran towards car in a hurry and all of a sudden I stopped after realising I forgot my car keys which resulted in me getting late to office. Boss scolded me for the same reason. After getting back to home, my wife was packing her bag and she was ready to leave with our daughter.
It has been a bad day.
Mr. Trevolta- A bad start. But, here is how you could have changed the situation.
What ever happens to us can be divided in two- one is which aren't planned ones, which surprises you.
10% of our life comprises of these things. For example, knocking over the cup of tea.
other- they are those things which depends on how you react. 90% of your life comprises of these things.
For example, you screaming at your daughter which resulted in her crying and your wife leaving you later
on. What it would be like if you had reacted like 'its okay dear'?
You would be sitting here with your wife and she was the one who would be scratching the stain, not you.
John- That is interesting. The 90/10 principle.

We have a John in us. We will lose a shirt or a couple of shirts, but we will win a dozen of hearts by following that simple principle.stephen-coveys-9010-principle-4-638.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64349.87
ETH 2775.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65