My "Life" Story Pt 8

in #life7 years ago

Adoption Day:

After being medication free for several months, my life was gradually getting better. I was proud of my decision and life choices, and my happiness was coming back in full force. I was dealing with the things of my past, my way, and in a healthy manner. I stopped going to therapy, and made a decision to make the most of every daily opportunity. I was tired of being my usual bitter self. I started to realize that that only got me so far. I was taking control of my life, and no longer letting my past control me. I started to let go of the past hurt. I started to forgive those who had hurt me. I didn't want to, but I knew it would be my only way to true freedom from the past. I was almost finished with High School, and I wanted to finish well. Graduation was around the corner, and I had worked really hard, in the right direction, to finally get to that place. 

My day started like every other. Alarm went off at 6:30am, I got up, got semi-dressed, and tried to think of a reason that was good enough to stay home from school, so really, I could just sleep all day. I walked up the stairs from my room in the basement, to meet my foster mom, sitting in the living room. Trying my best to put on my most convincing sick voice, I ask; "will you call and excuse me *cough.. from school... *cough.. I don't feel so good." She had to know something was up, because she had the biggest grin on her face, and it was way too early in the morning to be that happy without coffee. Something was up.

"Sit down, we need to talk." she said, radiating far more joy than I could handle.

"Okay... about..."? I knew she was onto me, so I tried to drag out the conversation long enough, to miss at least first period.

"Well, there's a family that is interested in adopting you."

"Again? Okay, what's their last name?" At this point in my life, and 2 failed adoptions later, it's all I cared about, and my sick voice was suddenly cured!

"Something with a weird Ski..." I started thinking of everyone I could with Ski at the end of their last name.

"So then... I don't have to go to school today, riiiiiight!? Still trying my best to stay focused on the original goal I had in mind.

"No, you can stay home, I know you're not sick. We're wanting to adopt you... that is, if you want us to. We're tired of seeing you come and go, and we don't want to have to say good-bye again!"

At this point I didn't know what to say, and the rest of the family members started to trickle in one by one, with their best "sick" voices too. I didn't believe her. I was thankful I wasn't going to school, but her words reverberated in my mind. 

"Go ahead and pick a date, and it'll be finalized! What do you guys think?"  All the other kids in the house, except their biological son, were already adopted by them, so it came naturally for them to agree with adding another kid to the family. They already considered me family anyway with how much I had come and gone. I wasn't required to stay with them for a year like the previous adoptions, because the amount of time I had lived with them on and off, totaled more than that and they didn't need a year to decide. They had made their decision, and they weren't giving up on me. It was finally happening, and I was getting my forever home. On August 5th, 2006, I went to the Boulder County Justice Center, and I was adopted. I didn't have to move ever again. I finally had peace knowing I had a family, and that I was loved.


Sort:  

Wow. I just happened to see this... haven’t ever read one of your posts before. But now I want to go back and find the others to read the rest of the story.😀

I'm in the process of writing my story and am on Part 12 currently. They're all labeled 1-12. I hope you enjoy! I like reading your posts'. Its my husbands dream and mine to homestead and basically go back to the farming lifestyle! I am encouraged when I see there are folks still out there getting their hands dirty and doing what most people in today's society only wish they could! Keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58871.01
ETH 2682.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50