How to Deal with Bullies and Others You'd Like To Slap (But Shouldn't)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

How to Deal with Bullies and Others You'd Like To Slap (But Shouldn't)

How do you deal with bullies? How about when it is your boss? There are a lot of reasons you have to carefully find out what to do when a bully is bothering you. This is particularly true if the bully is in a superior position to you like your boss, an important customer or others. Yes, you might want to slap them, but I don't recommend that. So what can you do without being walked all over?


JoyceWeiss_ComminWrkplc.gif

To find out about how the best deal with it, I talked with Joyce Weiss, a professional speaker and communication expert. Joyce regularly speaks for companies around America.

One recommendation she gives around the 5:00 mark can help you enormously in one of “those” situations. She talks about “verbal aikido” and how you can use that to achieve your goals even when you’re going through bullying.

This is one you’ll want to watch with you pen & paper, or note-taking device of choice handy. Knowing how to get around difficult communication situations with aplomb and gracefully can make all the difference in your work.

Please let me know what you think. I value your input and make it a point to answer questions and comments left here on Steemit. I really value your input, my fellow Steemians. If you like this, please upvote and resteem this to let me and others know so we can do more like this.

Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you!


Sort:  

Fascinating topic @terrybrock however, having witnessed the multi-pronged abuses against children, I am not personally in favor of slapping the offenders as I simply would not have enough time and eventually my arms would grow tired and my hands would be numb.

If I had sufficient assistance, then at the top of my list would be all those sperm donors who relegate a child to being raised by a single-mom basket case. But I digress.

I hear you, aedroberts. I also am not in favor of slapping anyone, even if I feel like it. I get very upset when I see someone harming a child. That is never acceptable in my opinion.

I hear where you're going with your other points and I've got a feeling we would agree. Thank you for sharing on thisimportant topic. I appreciate you stopping by.

Lol for real ther's alot of people i would like to slap and give them a hard time in their life

I know what you mean. I feel like it, but make sure I don't slap others. Something about the non-aggression principle. Think it but don't do it. Thank you for sharing. I appreciate it.

most bullies dont know when to draw the line...

Yes, you are right kfactor7. That is the problem and too often they cross that line. Thankyou for sharing.


Upboat is a friendly half-human, half-robot which hopes to help promote the better posts of Steemit by trying to ensure they get the recognition they deserve.
@UPBOAT looks for numerous signals before deciding on who to UPBOAT and is likely to summon our robot friends to share some robot love with you to show affection.


I'VE BEEN AT SEA FOR 4 DAYS AND HAVE GIVEN 148 UPBOATS! PLEASE HELP @UPBOAT STAY AFLOAT ON THE STEEMIAN SEAS BY DELEGATING SPARE SP OR PATCH WATER LEAKS BY UPBOATING.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @upboat.

Well, I appreciate that. 1.56% upvote is fine with me. Thank you!

Great post!!!!

Thank you, charsilan.

Great suggestions. I think most of us are faced with bullying of one type or another at least on occasion. Thanks :)

I think you're right, tinajordan. I liked the tips that Joyce gave. They are very practical and even better --- they work! Thank you for stopping by and your comment.

Well what I will do is to 'give them my sweet kisses' because I know they are seriously in need of real love.

I think you're right that they really are in need of love. Kindness can do wonders. Thank you for stopping by and your comment.

Bullies usually always have issues in their own life - just ask them how they are feeling!

Yes, I agree. I've found that to be the case that they are going through something that can be tough. And that "going through" time period can be years. Asking how they feel is a good strategy, nzfxtrader.

What a vital, much needed topic! Once I endured a bully boss for five years. I always said about him, "Hitler missed a good man." Would you believe he held staff meeting on Super Bowl Sunday at 6 PM kickoff time? As I was packing to leave after getting another job, I used newfound courage and told him what I really thought of him. Maybe that wasn't totally professional, yet I have never regretted being unusually gutsy then. He could have called my next boss, but I think he was too shocked that someone would stand up to him, that for once revenge didn't appeal to him.

Good for you, Bill, in having the courage to address what needed to be done. That is critical. This is where communication comes in and helps us know how to approach important decisions. You help people learn how to communiate and make it happen. Thank you for all you do!

Your support means plenty, every time, Terry. Just in the last couple of days many of us read a report about American workers being fearful at work--mainly because of bullies. Standing up to them may become the next widespread revolution!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46