Facing Down Hurricane Irma in FloridasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

As I type this we are facing what many are saying is the worst hurricane to ever hit Florida. Well, we are ready!

Life is like this from time to time. Wherever you live there are times when it gets rough. Wherever you happen to live you have challenges, dangers, and yes, good weather as well.

I think this is a metaphor for life. You take the necessary preparations and precautions to be safe. However, you can't cower in a corner.

Many people just want to stay in that warm bath water and never leave. Well, if you do that, you'll get one thing --- very wrinkly skin!

Here's a photo of what we're seeing as of a few minutes ago from one of our balconies here in Orlando, Florida. To the left we have Universal Studios. Move a bit to the right and you can see the Orlando Eye, called the world's largest ferris wheel. Then over on the right you see SeaWorld. It is relatively calm with a slight wind and a little rain. The major storm, Hurricane Irma, is slated to slowly begin Saturday night here, rage through Sunday and into early Monday morning.

Of course, all that could change quickly. We'll be resolute and enjoy the adventure whatever it brings.

Yes, we've taken the necessary precautions. We are in a very secure, specially-designed building to withstand those occasional (very rare) hurricanes that might come through Orlando. We're far inland and not as vulnerable as cities on the coast in Florida like Miami, Tampa, Jacksonville, and others. However, we still need to take precautions.

In addition to that, we have lots of bottled water, plenty of batteries, portable devices are fully charged, we have plenty of food, and some mighty tasty Japanese sake! Whoo Hoo!

So, as you go through your own trials and challenges remember that they are normal. Use your head and don't do life-threatening foolish activities. But don't stay in that "warm bathtub of water." Get out and live. Take reasonable and calculated risks. Enjoy life and live it to the fullest.

What do you think? I'd really value your comments, my beloved Steemians. All the best to you. I don't know if we'll have electricity and internet access after tomorrow evening (when the fun is projected to start). But, I'll be back. I love this Steemit community and look forward to lots of good for the future.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Terry

Sort:  

I am here in St. Pete by the coast and I was thinking about getting a GoPro camera to film the storm but then again I wanna live lol

It's ok to record some, but safety is always first. Don't take any undue risks just to get some video. Wishing you the best over there in St. Pete as we hunker down here in Orlando.

Thank you my friend. While the coast is not near you the winds will still be very dangerous so I am also wishing you the best.

It would be cool if there was a GoPro live streaming the storm. It would be pretty awesome to virtual reality experience a hurricane

Yes, that would be good to see it. Many logistical questions come to mind including questions about power, safety for the unit, making sure no one is harmed, etc. I've got a feeling that someone, somewhere will have something like that. Good points, supremenyc.

good luck..I wish you all the best and stay safe...following

Thank you, lindabasilick. Much appreciated.

Best wishes as you weather the storm. I'm not sure what I would do in the same situation since I've never lived in hurricane country but I like your approach of

"Tak[ing] reasonable and calculated risks."

It sounds like you're well prepared and whatever happens I imagine it will be a memorable few days.

Yes, it will be a good time, dvhaley. I grew up in the Midwest so we didn't have hurricanes. Tornadoes, yes, but hurricanes are for here in FL and other places. The key is to be prepared, use your brains, and enjoy the adventure.

Thank you for the comment.

I agree with ya Terry. Reasonable and calculated risks. And enjoy the hell outta that sake!

Thank you, Joseph! Yes, that is the way to live life with reasonable and calculated risks--- oh yes, and plenty of good sake! Nice to hear from you!

I take it, then. that your area has had no evacuation "orders". What are the evacuation "suggestions" from your city authorities?

I haven't heard any of those "orders" from the city authorities here. I've heard that "mandatory evacuation" means that you should leave, but if you choose to stay, you're on your own. Too many people say they want to stay and refuse to leave until they are in the midst of the raging storm and demand that police come and rescue them. As I understand, and have heard numerous times, "mandatory evacuation" means that you should really, really, really (notice the emphasis?) get out and if you don't you are on your own with no chance of help coming your way.

This would be a very good discussion to have with reasonable people during a time of safety. Always good to hear from you, @onceuponatime. Hope you are doing very well.

Terry all the best for you and your beloved ones! Everything is going to be fine I am sure!

Thank you, Tina. We are doing fine and doing what is safe. Thank you for your care and kindness.

I hope the best for you @terrybrock!

Thank you! We're going to pull through this one --- and enjoy the process.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97