Change of plans

in #life6 years ago

Figured I should make this post. I’ve been contemplating what to do about my earlier, very depressed and angry posts. They are things I wrote that certainly expressed how I felt at the time but are no longer relevant. And in this age of ovverreaction and general stupidity I would prefer someone not try using those to ruin my life sometime in the future. However deleting things is impossible on steemit. So I’m left with only one option which it to roll with it and admit to it if it ever becomes relevant. The sub options are to either edit them out of existence or just leave them as is. Editting them is a sort of poor mans deletion because sure, most people won’t see what the real content was, but all they have to do is look at the blockchain history and they can read the whole thing. So what’s the point? Might as well just leave it there and be honest about it.

On the other hand leaving it there has it’s own problems too since most people probably wouldn’t care to go looking into my history unless I gave them a reason to so maybe it’s best to edit them. Either way I had originally planned to bury the bad stuff under loads of content that was actually meaningful so that the trend would show on it’s own that I no longer think that way and thus digging that old stuff up would be easy to admit to and laugh off. But that hasn’t happened yet. I regret getting involved on steemit, I clearly wasn’t in any emotional position to do it at the time. I would argue I’m still not. But at least in my current state I have no desire to go around attacking people and whatnot.

Speaking of that, I originally had this idea that I wanted to get people motivated to work on things to make the world better and part of that plan involved purposefully creating a divie between certain, well, not ideologies, I don’t know what you’d call them. A divide anyways. The idea went that if you act somewhat extreme and for one thing you will inevitably attract the people that already feel the same way. From that you build a following and then slowly ease off to gain more and more middle ground. At which point you have enough people to really start getting things done. In my case I wanted to gather people who either have technical skills or have the desire to get technical skils for the purpose of creating free and open source things designed to increase individual independence. Which meant the flipside was to be dismissive and condescending to the idea of what I was constructing as the apathetic stereotpe. People who complain about the problems of the world but offer no solutions and don’t even take advice when given or use altenatives when presented because they’re not as good as the mainstream versions yet. It’s a grievance I’ve seen from quite a number of people, that these lazy people are truly what holds everyone back.

The goal had been to create social pressure on such individuals, not by directly attacking them per se, but by creating a social environment that frowned on those who weren’t pitching in. It’s a method I’ve used in the past to great effect. The problem is this tactic only works if you are talking relatively often and if you are also showing progress updates on your own personal projects as proof that you aren’t juist another person complaining. Thus achieving a state of “high quality visibility” that annoys the ideologies you don’t like, inspires the ones you do like, and can’t really be ignored by anyone. An example being if I already was doing weekly garden updates and/or updates on FOSS software I was coding that wasn’t just a game. Then it’d be easy to make general mocking posts about the idea of people who complain about things but don’t lift a finger to help themselves without having to talk about or to anyone specifically. Although in some cases specifics are good to include.

Although I still feel strongly about helping the world that goal and the tactics associated with it just won’t work for my situation anymore. But I’m still left with my little bit of steemit activity that is almost completely negative.

For the moment my decision is to write this post and leave everything up, maybe I’ll edit it later, who knows? I don’t plan on being very involved on steemit but I suppose that’s obvious from my posting history. I just can’t think of any reason to post on here. I’ve never been much for social media. Other people just aren’t all that interesting to me. I only really care about projects and getting things done.

I do know that when one of my game projects gets to a decent level I’ll post about them even though they’re just games and don’t really matter in the grand scheme of things. Likewise if I do any more creative writing or have something to show for any of my other projects. Beyond that, I don’t see the point. Like I’ve said several times before, the time I spend posting here could’ve been spent actually making progress.

Sort:  

Congratulations @terraset! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @terraset! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51