You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Power of Dialogue to Reconcile Polarity (pt 1)

in #life7 years ago

Many of the polarities you mention are false dichotomies. Dichotomies can be useful for understanding things in a limited way but not applicable to everything you mention.

The problem of political conflict as I see it is more about competition for the same thing. Wars are fought for access to or protection of resources more often than not. It's not so much about you're wrong as I won't allow you to do that or have that. Ideology hides this basic fact.

I agree with you on some of your point about education. Something has to be done about testing.

Sort:  

Hey teerx, thanks for your response, I really appreciate the feedback! By false dichotomy, do you mean that the above examples don't portray universally sound expressions of polarity? If so, I am actually on the same page. I would be inclined to stick to more hermetic-principle examples of polarity, but thought I may lose folks in trying to use such lofty notions. I should amend the above to at least say "Some polarities are recognizable, in part", or something to a similar tune.
I see political conflict in terms of opposing/interacting dynamic systems, which could be expressed as competition, surely. But I tend to view it as a continuum, masked by ideology (as you say). That continuum to me reflects a basic nature of all natural systems to keep the 'outside out', allow necessary substances in and permit others to leave, and replicate themselves. My take on the Body Politic, I suppose!

Interesting, yes I think we're in agreement strangely. That's a good result.

I would just make clear that I said "competition for the same thing", by which I mean scarce resources.

I will read more of your articles, I'm following you now.

Thanks, mate! Feels good to arrive easily at agreement. I am a fan of using perspectives for personal growth, so always feel free to call me on any perceived bullshit ;-)

I like good debate so you can count on it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45