Six Days Without a Beer: The Beginning of a Promise I MadesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

My daughter lost someone in her life recently due to poor health habits. She looked me in the eyes and begged me to stay healthy so that I wouldn't leave her too early. I have left the weights, been a couch potato who eats unhealthy, drink heavily two days a week when she is with her mother and started to feel my body go the way of an old man.

A bell went off when my little girl told me this, and I realized that some changes to re-start my engine needed to happen. Quitting drinking was never something that was difficult when I put my mind to it, working out regularly went in spurts of championship training to absolutely nothing in 60 seconds, and my diet would usually follow. Putting this out there to the world definitely adds some skin in the game, since my word is my bond.

So last Saturday night, I had my final beer for six months, which I knew would help me get back in the gym. Once in the gym, diet would follow, as it always has (and it had, I had rice, fish and qinoa for dinner tonight). 

When there is something greater than yourself that is depending on your goals, whether it be God, someone you love, or an external goal, you will succeed, or be a quitter and a liar.

Sort:  

8 years dry for Papa... Way to go man!

Good for you. Upvoted.

Thanks, man. Figured I would start easy with quitting alcohol. Smoking is last, since it's the most difficult.

Just take a baby step each day. You will achieve your goal.

That's the plan. I don't drink all the time, just think it doesn't help my workouts

I used to drink 1 to 2 x a week the Korean rice wine and got sick all the time. So, I rarely drink now.

I would pull a Thu and Sat night 6er of tall boys. Not great for lifting

I salute you, @tee-em . Hang in there!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.74 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 12 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you for this service! I think it adds value to the platform.

I need to get back into exercising. I'm going to do like I did a couple of months ago where I record myself doing it and then splice a weekly video together. You should join in and we'll be Steemian Workout Buddies. lol

Thatd work. Let me know what you have in mind. A friendly blog competition that could be voted on?

What I was doing was posting daily 2-3 minute workout videos, using the iOS app "Sworkit". It was just a simple 15-minute exercise routine. I probably won't post daily videos like I was, but maybe weekly.

Here's the last one I posted before my life scheduled flipped upside down and I couldn't fit it in my day anymore.

https://steemit.com/steemitfitnesschallenge/@winstonwolfe/the-1st-steemit-fitness-challenge-20-years-out-of-shape-workout-012

Cool vid. What do you use to do your video editing and music?

Do you have a weight set at home?I was thinking of making a blast your bench/kettlebell morning series. I used to bench around 340 before the fall.

Thanks.
Music is just whatever I can find that I think fits. For editing I use Sony Vegas.
As for the camera, I use a GoPro Hero4 Session.

Nice. I was just going to use my phone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99