Today a stranger helped me to help another family

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Today I went and picked up a gift for my granddaughter and decided to get a gift card for a family I know very well who struggles to make ends meet, they are on a fixed income and have been very worried on how they were going to provide Christmas for their children. It isn't much but I decided why I was at Walmart to get them a gift card to Walmart so they could go shopping on Black Friday and get a few gifts for the kids. I cashed in some of my crypto to provide a $100 gift card to them.

I then went across the street to Ruler's Food to get a $50 gift card for them to use for food so they can have a nice Thanksgiving Dinner and even enough to cover Christmas Dinner too. When I was on the phone talking to a friend telling them what I was going to do for this family when the lady behind me overheard me and as I hung up the phone so I could check out tapped me on the shoulder and handed me $20 and said "Please I want to help too, add this to the gift card. What you are doing is wonderful and I want to help also."

I see so much negative in the world, but there are so many positive things too that happen all the time. But the stories don't get told. I wasn't planning on telling anyone about helping this family but when a stranger wanted to help me help someone else I decided the story needs to be told. All of us can make a difference in other people's lives. And it doesn't have to be monetary.

There are many ways to make a difference in the world. Kindness, understanding and even being willing to listen without judgement can go a long way to making a difference in someone life. You never know when the difference in someones life will happen. Words can help get people through rough times, so take the time to listen, maybe you have the right words.

This is the season known for being giving, what we need to try to remember is that need knows no season and if we can give to others what we no longer need we can make a difference. We all need someone at some point. So if you are able to be that person someone needs. Everyone needs help every now and again. So if you have ever been helped pay it forward when you can, and if you never helped anyone, give it a try, you get more out of it then they do.

untitled.png

Sort:  

Heart touching post, amazing. Everyone does not same. There are billions of positive people who understand the situation of others and help them. I saw much rich peoples that they feel ashamed to donate beggars but they feel proud the give a tip to a restaurant servant. It is why? Why they do not want to help beggars? The only reason is that they assume that their personality can be go down to donate a beggar. And if they give a tip, they feel that what a great work I am doing.

Knowing they have a good meal on the holidays is a great thing. Not many people will do things like this and it is so sad because it could be them in the next instance needing help.

Thats awesome, and very Heartwarming to read this time of year.

Congratulations @tecnosgirl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79