Changing my focus

in #life6 years ago

Moving on to other projects while waiting to move
Since now the single hold up on moving into our home is getting the power connected, and who knows when that will happen. I decided I should start focusing on projects I have had on the back burner. One of the projects includes working with thermochromic pigments. That basically means I am going o be working on some color changing products for the new year for my contests and giveaways. I have a really cool idea that I hope works out. I can't share what it is yet, because I don't want anyone jacking it from me.

Taking time to use Markdown
One of the things I planned on doing once we got moved was focus on making sure I am using markdown to make my blog look better and easier to read. Simple little things that make blogs easier to read and more user friendly that I have a tendency to rush to get my things published, instead of taking the time to make sure it is easier to read.

Letting go of things I can not change
I have been upset over the last 24 hours about the permit issue with the state for the transformer. It isn't anything in my control so I am letting go, it is what it is. And things have a way of working out the way they should. I truly believe that and I have to trust in that or I will drive myself crazy.

Focusing on Christmas
I love Christmas and it hasn't felt like Christmas with all that is going on. So I am going to focus on Christmas and making it feel like Christmas. My youngest daughter finishes finals week on Friday and will be home for a couple of weeks, and I will be able to spend time with all my children and am blessed to get to spend the holidays with them all. Before long I may have to share them with their future spouses families. But right now I don't, so I am going to focus on cherishing those moments.

CAM00376.jpg

Planning my cooking Vlog
Once we get moved I am going to be starting a cooking Vlog for my steemit page. I love to cook, and because of a food allergy I have, I have a tendency to do things with food most people wouldn't think of doing. I also love to take the same old foods and give them new twists. I am really excited to start that series and share recipes with my readers.

Promoting Steemit
With the holiday's and all I postponed doing an intro to steemit thing I have been planning. Since I have no clue what is going on with the house, I am going to start getting that planned and getting the location booked for it. I plan to host it at the local library in the community room they have that you can get free. I am really excited about it. While many people are worried about trying to get Whales to notice them, I am more worried about building a community to become a whale instead. Though I love when a Whale does notice me too, just like anyone else. But that is not my focus here on Steemit.

Focusing on promoting @SchoolforSDG4
I love this school, if you don't know by now. I want to try to help them raise even more funds to ensure they can keep operating and help as many slum children as they can. If you don't know about the @schoolforsdg4 then please go check out their page. They are doing amazing work. All children deserve and education and what @azizbd is doing for these kids with this school is amazing. Your upvote on their posts is all that is needed to support the school and if you are in the position to help more they are always willing to take direct donations.

untitled.png

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

You got a 0.29% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jout!

Oh I read the title and I thought you traded your ford Focus for something else _

LOL no but I been focused too much on the house. I really hope that we get a Christmas miracle with the house. But for now I am gonna focus on Christmas and my Kid's 18th and 19th birthdays coming up

Bless you and yours. That Cooking Vlog sounds like a great idea. I'm a big fan of @gringalicious. Her posts might give you a little inspiration to keep going with your great idea.

Congratulations on the idea to to a little @Steemit promotions as well. I've started a weekly Steemit Bitcoin Happy Hour Meetup here in St Louis. This will be our third straight week. We host it at a place called The Improv Shop. I'm an improviser so while everyone is welcome to attend, I have focused on catering to improviser and the arts community. So maybe some friendly encouragement is follow your own sage advice of not worrying about catering to the whales, but focusing on the community you already know, those with similar interests. I can tell you, that we started slowly , but are growing, i just try to remind myself to stay patient is all. Wishing you all the best with that. The library is a perfect location cause i'm sure they have WiFi :)

Here is a link to our upcoming Steemit Meetup. And if you are ever passing through St Louis, please do drop by :)
https://steemit.com/life/@jacobts/st-louis-steemit-bitcoin-happy-hour-3-invitation

Happy Holidays to you and your family.

Yeah..I'm still remember you telling me about the cooking vlog. I will be waiting to see you commence that

I was hoping to have that started by now, but till we are in our new space I don't have the space here to do it.

You have the right idea there, because there's always at least ONE (and, usually, MORE) things you can be doing while you're hurrying up and waiting.

Hopefully, the powers-that-be will get you connected to a transformer more sooner than later...

Take a deep breath.

Let go.

You are doing great :)

I admire your efforts @SchoolforSDG4 :)

You've certainly taken on enough good work to keep yourself busy while you wait.

My friend's mother, when she misbehaved, would make her stand in the corner for an hour so she could "count her blessings." I guess I understand the sentiment, but I think going out and doing something with your blessings is a lot more effective.


Are the builders required to cover your living expenses while you wait for the state to connect the power?

Nope because that isn't their fault. They did pay for 10 days for days they caused delays but this is all on us. UGH!!!

Oh man, what a drag!

It would be satisfying to send the state a bill for the cost of your delay, but I don't expect they'd respond.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89