You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should We Have The Basic Right To End Our Lives?

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I strongly agree with you and have spent a lot of time thinking about this specific issue. And I'll tell you (TMI you, really) why.

I was very suicidal about a year and a half ago. Between my chronic pain (fibromyalgia), a rough breakup and family issues - I was just about ready to call it quits. I still have this running joke with my therapist: "Fuck this, book me a one way ticket to Belgium". I don't really want to die anymore, but I still want to visit there. I hear the chocolate is great. :)

Having tried suicide and failed, I can say with certainty that IMHO - yes, euthanasia should be an option for people whose suffering cannot be eased and/or is worse over time. After all other options have been explored, I think it's just humaine.

Some physical and mental illnesses can be worse than death. You can get over it if it it's a temporary or treatable condition, but if it only gets worse over time and there's no remedy? I think people should be able to make an informed and sane decision to end their lives before said illness takes this ability from them. Because it can.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your person story with us, im glad you're still here :) . I think the waiting period is necessary as well because given time many people will choose life over death which is the important part, but if someone is chronically unhappy even after that time then it should be their own choice.

I agree. I think one of the hardest things is telling people around you that you want to die and them just... not accepting it. Robbing you of your right to end your suffering. And that's just wrong, I think. The recognition and acceptance of the environment can go a long way.

I still have this running joke with my therapist: "Fuck this, book me a one way ticket to Belgium". I don't really want to die anymore, but I still want to visit there. I hear the chocolate is great. :)

Funny!

I too have fibromyalgia too. The rough breakup and family issues probably sent your fibro issues through the roof. I'm glad you survived that dark period.

I am too. At the time I didn't think I would.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43