The Beauty of being a Mum to Boys. . .

in #life7 years ago

received_1876242405976512.jpeg

Once upon a time, I yearned for a little girl. The dreams of pretty dresses, frilly socks, pink, glitter and glam. Little did I know though, the beauty of being a mother to two little boys . . .

Although there is no pink, frilly socks, pretty dresses, glitter or glam, there is something there that is irreplaceable. My days are filled with shouts, screams, hyperactivity, mud, dirt, tumbles and roars and a constant echo of me repeating "just please put your willy away!" They are filled with a constant need for hugs, kisses and love. I have learnt to impersonate the voice of John Cena as I wrestle with my five year old in his imaginary WWE ring. I have been educated on the characters that make up Marvel and Avengers and I have learnt the consequences of purchasing the wrong Superman costume because there is now a variety of ones to choose from.

I have come to understand that little boys do like to dress up in dresses, experiment with makeup, play with dolls and are curious about mummys false eye lashes as they try to put them on. I have come to understand that little boys do enjoy watching Frozen, Barbie movies and Disney Princesses and they enjoy playing with tea cup sets and baking. I have come to understand that although my children are boys, they are not yet conditioned to a "male" role. They enjoy helping clean around the house with their pretend hoovers and pushing around a toy pram to be just like mum.

Having boys is beautiful. Although I wasn't prepared at first, I realized that I never could of been anyway. I expected daily trips to the football pitch, not wanting to hug or kiss mummy, a high interest in fast cars and an innate tendency to be unclean. Instead, I am faced with an overwhelming need to be hugged and kissed and a high interest in doing whatever it is they feel like doing, whether this be a trip to the football pitch or a day spent drawing and being creative.

I once believed that to experience all of these things I would have to of given birth to a little girl, but I couldn't of been more wrong. Children are children, biologically they are male or female, but their interests, likes and dislikes are not determined by their gender. They are not scared to enjoy what they like in fear of being discriminated and this is something I have come to learn, it's the same with little girls too.

There is love, laughter, strops, anger, tears and tantrums. And I wouldn't change of it for the world. . .

Sort:  

The greatest gift... having a healthy child!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

So true. I myself was waiting for the girl that never came. Have one boy...and yes a lot of screaming, but he is very soft and likes hugs and kisses. Today is his birthday, pretending to be a big boy of 14 now. But still in his little heart he is tjat very soft emotional little boy that needs love and attention. I am blessed.

I am STILL waiting, I would still love to have a little girl, but I really believe I am destined to have little boys in this life :-)

Bringing up boys into manhood might seem a difficult task. But our maternity instinct guides us naturally. A mum of two boys :)

Yes I couldn't agree more :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68418.37
ETH 3743.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65