You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Broken Education System, My Opinions On The Current State of Education In The United States

in #life8 years ago

Math teacher checking in. I've taught high school for the past decade plus. I'm in the trenches. The largest problem by FAR is the de-professionalization of education. No one wants to be a teacher. I love what I do, but some days I even question my own sanity. And why? Because we have impossible moving targets set by politicians that could give two shits less about what is really going on. Kids doing poorly? You suck. Kids doing well? It's because of us.

Ask yourself this: When you go to the doctor, who do you want to see? Someone just out of college, or someone that has been experienced in that profession for many years?

Guess what? In teaching, your kids are most likely to have a hobbyist for their teacher. Maybe someone two years out of college, if you are lucky.

Why? Because your state has relaxed the guidelines for someone looking to become a teacher. Anyone looking to teach has to know nothing about the psychology of the teenage brain, nor effective strategies to help students learn.

"Did you read 'The Great Gatsby?' You're hired!"

Teaching used to be a valued profession. Something respected. When I tell someone I am a teacher, I usually get a pregnant pause followed by a "that must suck". I don't know what will fix it, but if this culture continues, I sincerely worry for our future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61720.10
ETH 2429.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63