Steemit and English Education

in #life6 years ago (edited)

steem_success.jpg

1


Steemit

Although we enjoy being a part of this amazing community, many people aren't aware of Steemit yet. As the users of Steemits, one of our aims in life is to create awareness in the society. I am also a part of this chain as I am an English teacher. I have many young students who are also English students as well. They all live far away from their families and they need some funding to carry on their education and Steemit might be the best place they are looking for, but it is not all. Steemit is also a great source to advance their English.

As English learners, students must practise the language as much as possible. They can do it in different ways, such as writing, reading and speaking. When they are on this amazing platform, they can improve their reading and writing skills at the moment which will help them to become better in English language and earn money. I usually have these small talks during the breaks with them and do my best to welcome them into this community.


vocabulary-pic.png

2


Production

If they want to be successful on this platfrom, they have to produce in Turkish or English. If they write only in Turkish, their voice can't be heard much. When I see them interested in Steemit, I try to feed them with the importance of English language. If the aim is to produce something, first of all they need to read a lot in their mother language or English. As they are learners, they need to improve their grammar, by looking at new words, that is a great way of learning, isn't it?

In addition to this, when they want to write something, they must be really good at picking proper words to express themselves. We can't expect everybody to be perfect in terms of writing skills, but they should do their best by working hard on their posts. They should check the meaning of words and find the best forms of grammar so that people who want to get information from them can easily read and understand their posts.


find_your_purpose_1200x627.jpg

3


Motivation and Inspiration!

When we think about learning process, one of the most important key words in relation with English language is the motivation. It is same in everything. If you want to achieve something, you must be fully motivated and focused on your target. I remember myself when I wanted to apply for Erasmus programme. My grades were a bit low and I had to push them up so that I could get selected to go to Poland. My motivation was Erasmus and I did it!

Is there a better motivation than Steemit? When students discover this amazing platform, they notice that If they want to better their lives, they have to learn the language as soon as possible. We are in the world where we all have to compete a lot. If you don't improve yourself in different fields like learning a language, it is really hard to survive. When I give them some small speeches about Steemit and how my life has changed, they feel more eager and interested in learning it which makes my job easier at the school.


steeeeem.jpg

4


Final Note

All my students are really important for me. Steemit is a big chance in my life for my self-development. As long as I get better in all terms in my life, I am sure I will reflect my experiences on them more effectively. I do my best to spread this valuable community that has helped to feel better in my life. I think, we all, as educators, must see this as part of education. I guess, there are many teacher on Steemit. What do you think about the relation between Steemit and learning English? Let's discuss! Thanks for reading and Steem on!


follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  

The only thing that interferes with my learning is my education.

- Albert Einstein

Thanks for your contribution :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @teachblogger to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This is what I have trying with my daughter's. I setup an account for them and encourage them to produce content either in writing or drawing or photography. To master one language, we really need to practise more. As we all know "practice makes perfect". Being able to practise here in Steemit is the best, as we earn while we learn!

That is really cool, how old is she? :)

They are turning 9, 7 and 4 this year. They share one account managed by me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01