You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Addiction Starts?

in #life8 years ago

Great post, and I'm glad that you added that not all addictions can play a negative role in a person's life.

A few comments down, someone mentioned that some people may be genetically pre-disposed to addiction. While there may be studies that demonstrate these trends, my personal opinion is that addiction, or even obsession is a circumstantial learned pattern of behaviour.

I am an addict. While my addictions have included subscribed medicine dependence, leading to abuse and inevitably addiction, thrown in with similar patterns with recreational substances. I often consider seeking counselling or reaching out to those around me, but my programmed behaviour is to keep things inside and to push them back.

However, I do have other addictions that one may consider positive or negative, but I personally consider to be positive.]

I'm a family man, have a dog, mortgage, responsibilities, and a relatively senior job at a large corporation.

I cannot leave my family. I have no reason to. I love them so much.
My dog is insane, jumps on the couch and is too clever, but why would I want to give up that furry bundle of fun?
I have a house, or rather - the bank owns my house, but I'm paying them back.
And I want to succeed, make a name for myself at my current company. I check my work mobile regularly, including holidays and weekends. If I miss an opportunity to bring further success to my employer, that's a high that I've missed.

I recently watched a TEDTalk about addiction, and I think it rings true in many cases. But those cases are often driven by circumstance, experience and environment. Here's the video:

Apologies - still new to steemit and haven't learned about Styling yet!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56299.59
ETH 2984.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22