You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: No one knows how to do stuff anymore

in #life6 years ago

Everyone has their skill set. My grandfather was that guy who built his house from the ground up, though his cousin owned the lumberyard so at least he didn't have to do it from trees.

My dad, on the other hand, is the least handy person in the world, but he's great with humans. Want to build a community, he's your guy, but if you need a pipe fixed you'd better call somebody, or have my mom try to do it.

So I never learned to do anything on that front as a kid, but by the time I was 16 I could do anything you pleased with a computer. And I've been learning more mechanical things as an adult. I put hardwood floors into my studio, terribly, but learned some things from it. I can build furniture, weld steel, and set type. Still no good with cars, but I'm ok with that.

I'm half-tempted by the idea of buying a bit of land on the North Shore of Lake Superior and building a house on it. I know very little about how to do that now, but I could learn.

Sort:  

not being able to work on cars might be a product of how cars are made now. It is more computer than engine these days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58130.32
ETH 2361.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38