Lines on paper many years ago

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I reached forward, her back was to me and I gently placed my hand on the outside of her own. She was so tiny in front of me, like a little bird. There was no certainty how she was going to react but I had a feeling and after a slight pause, she curled her small hand around my fingers.


We stood on a darkened and crowded dance floor, watching the teachers in the spotlight demonstrate a pattern, and she ever so slightly leaned herself back so her shoulders fell on my chest. I knew at that point that I was going to marry this girl.

Of course the story she would tell would be slightly different. She would say I used a ridiculous line (which I didn't - but I did say) and that it didn't work (yet here we are married with a child 8 years later) on her.

Many years ago, I drew a picture in a sketchbook of a woman and I still remember it today, even though I have no idea what happened to the sketchbook itself. I wanted to look into the future a bit and think about what I wanted in a partner, I even wrote some basic attributes down I thought I might one day consider valuable.

The weird thing is, that when I first saw my wife dancing, it was that picture that came to mind -yet I hadn't thought about it for a decade or more. It was her. Or at least, her enough to remind me of the picture. Funny isn't it?

One thing I wrote was 'Good mother' and I have lucked out there, as has my daughter as she is awesome with her and I think as she grows, she will realize how lucky she is to have this woman as a mother.

My wife never met my mother and has only been able to spend a very short few minutes with my dad. My wife has asked if my mother would have liked her and the answer is a resounding, 'No, my mother wouldn't have'. My mother didn't really like anyone though so, it is not about my wife. My Dad liked her but, 'He likes everyone' so that doesn't really help her cause either.

Our relationship is no fairy tale and comes bundled with a lot of clashing of minds and wills. We are both strong (stubborn) people and we challenge each other more than we don't. It was one of the attributes I wrote on me sketch. I want to be challenged, I want someone who will demand more from me and help me be better tomorrow than I was today. It would have been nice if my wife had sketched me once upon a time also as then, perhaps she would accept the clash a little more.

But, even with all the hurdles we have faced, and all of the times we have annoyed each other, going forward, we will still be in it together for the long-run and I hope it will always be that way too.

I don't buy into the trap that is modern day romance. People want only good times, upside, only the honeymoon. That is not where love lays. It is in the hard times and the struggle, buried within the arguments and the conversations trying to work out how to pay for the groceries or how to cover the next medical bill. Love isn't sweeping off the feet, it is grounded, centered and practical where two people work together to be better individuals for each other together.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
Posted with Steempress

Sort:  

I also want that type of woman that will challenge me and push me to be better.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't know what the trick is but I'd say one also has to be the kind of man that kind of woman wants also.

knowing what you need in a mate i important. That changes with age. But finding it in someone is priceless. Thanks @tarazp.

Finding a person that grows together rather than apart is an increasing challenge in a disposable relationship world.

So true...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 48000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 49000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hey,

I would like to invite you to @APPICS as one of the first APPICS app testers!
APPICS is a new blockchain based social media application launching in Q2 this year. Similar to Steemit, users can earn cryptocurrency tokens for posting creative content, but different to Steemit, APPICS will be focusing on photos or videos instead of blogposts. With the APPICS app we give users the power to monetize time and creativity they spend on social media.

The app is currently in beta mode, running on the STEEM blockchain, so you can easily log in with your username and your private posting key as your password.

If you´re interested in joining APPICS, please send us an email at [email protected]

Feel free to visit our website Appics.com for further information.

I‘m looking forward to hear from you!

Best wishes,

Lisa

I sent an email months ago (just after Steemfest) a couple months later got a reply and then, couldn't download for Android.

Did you send an email to [email protected] yet? Let us know if you have any troubles signing in

Yes I did but haven't been sent a link back and it still won't let me get it the PLAY store.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64940.81
ETH 3553.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33