Coulda, woulda, shoulda

in #life7 years ago (edited)

It is easy to be caught in the flow, the whirlwind of life as there is always another activity, another demand made, another expectation to meet. It is relatively easy to say no to it all, much harder to actually follow the word as each action comes with a cost, and inaction is a cost.

It is good to relax of course, but, is there such a thing as too much relaxation? I have definitely wasted too many opportunities in my life through my inability or unwillingness to put the effort in at the right time. I feel that I am trying to make up for it now but I am well behind where I 'could have, would have, should have' been.

Of course, hindsight is much better than foresight when it comes to these types of things but I think that even at the time, I knew I was undercutting myself too heavily. Even now, I think there is more to be done that I am putting off.

At the weekend, we were at a party. There were sports stars, television personalities, big business owners and politicians. The interesting thing is that for the most part, they are not too much different from myself but, it is hard not to compare lifestyles.

Could I have been in a similar position? Probably. Would I have been? Who knows. Should I have worked harder? Yes.

Not to be like them though as that is not important to me, nor is their lifestyle. Yes, it would be nice to not have to worry about the everyday expenses and mortgage but, I don't require much. Why I should have worked harder is that in doing so, I could work even more now as I would have increased my future potential by using more fully the current potential.

From what I know of some of the people on the weekend, most have worked very hard for their position in life, worked very hard year after year. Yes, they step away, take holidays in fancy places, live in nice homes and drive nice cars but that is generally in between the long hours, the high responsibility, the demands they place upon themselves.

Some of them came from money and still work extremely hard, some are self-made and have been hustling their whole lives. Over the years in Finland, I have worked with some very wealthy people, the kinds that own yachts and holiday homes around the world. For the most part, they have not slowed down to enjoy what they have earned.

Some people think that it is greed that drives them but knowing a few quite well, the money is an added bonus and I think that for many, it is about how far they can push their own limits. This is of course common in other areas and accepted. When an athlete trains and strives to be the world's best in their field people are supportive, when a scientist pushes their understanding it is applauded, when a business person does it, it is often met with disdain.

But, for people like me, those that are not successful, not dedicated enough to strive to reach potential, it is not a good story to tell that others work harder than we do. It doesn't place us in a flattering light. I think to myself sometimes what could have been if I had done this or that, but it is useless unless it will effect what I am willing to do now.

Will today be the day, I stretch my future potential?

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

The photo is from a subway in Milan.

Sort:  

Rigth now I feel like that, but I think it's a matter of priorities, everybody values different things, maybe I would have more money if I would have worked harder before, but I didn't, what matters is, what are we going to do TODAY to improve?

Today is where everything is and always will be. Learning from what was is the point of this, not regret.

Don't live with regret. Live is not about money or fame, but happiness, wisdom and inner peace. Have you heard of www.theminimalists.com? A minimalist lifestyle doesn't have all the trimmings of the wealthy or the over achievers, but it can be just as fulfilling.

Wisdom and inner peace take work too. Understanding the self is most important but people confuse peace with inactivity and happiness with pleasure. Money has very little to do with this particular post.

Excellent photo illustration for your story @tarazkp. I have to recommend it to the viewers of the Daily photo selection. Upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you very much :)

love the feeling of the motion here and in terms of geometry awesome composition

Just wonderful, totally agree with you. The question we should put to ourselves is that one, if we should have been done better. But the answer is: if what you do makes you happy, then keep doing it. If not, just try to change the odds. Congrats, I'm following you :)

we should take advantage of every oppertunity if there's a loss , or well, it's just part of the game

I have missed many for many reasons, at the core has always been fear.

That's why if we just work hard enough to overcome our fears , then we become unstoppable!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54