The timing will never be "just right". Stop waiting and go after your dreams!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

HB “Don’t wait. The time will never be just right.” ~Napoleon Hill.jpg

Are you pursing your dreams?

What are your dreams?

It is so easy to get caught up in the busyness of life. Whether your goal is to lose ten pounds, be consistent with posting on steemit or learn a new language-- don't let life get in the way of achieving those goals.

How do you get started down the path of achieving your dreams?

1. Define your goal

Your goal should be specific, measurable and have a deadline.

Brain Hack: Your brain instantly becomes disgusted with a goal greater than 90 days in the future. If you have a BIG goal, break it down into small steps that take 30-60 days to accomplish.

For example "I want to lose weight" is a very vague goal-- how will you know if you achieved that?

Instead, think about what you really want.

Let's say I want to lose 100 pounds. I know that weight loss of 1-2 lbs per week is a healthy and sustainable goal. The turtle really does win the race when it comes to losing weight. Over 8 weeks, I could potentially lose anywhere from 8-16 pounds. So, I'm going to set a specific goal of "I want to lose 10 pounds in the next 8 weeks"

2. Define Action Steps

Next is the HOW you are going to achieve this goal. Think about all the things you know you need to do to achieve your goal. Write them down.

Now, think about all the things you don't know about achieving your goal. Write these down.

Looking at the things you know you need to do, create a list of 1-2 actions that you can begin doing immediately that will have a big impact on your goal.

Using the example from before, I want to lose 10 pounds in the next 8 weeks. To do this I know I need to stop drinking soda, eating candy and buying caramel lattes at my local starbucks every morning. This is something I feel like I can do this week and is my first action item. (In fact, I added up the calories I'm drinking and eating from this stuff every week and I'm pretty sure I'm going to lose weight just by changing this one habit!)

3. Research what I don't know

On my list of things I don't know is "How to like eating vegetables". So, I'm going to spend time researching/exploring this over the next week. The goal is to continue introducing a new habit every 1-2 weeks to create a healthier version of you.

What are your dreams? Your goals?

Comment and share your dreams and goals with me. I can help you further define them if you wish--just ask!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33