Beautiful Thai Unique Style, handicrafts from bamboo

in #life6 years ago

handicrafts 18.jpg

It’s always great to learn other cultures through people’s stories or the things that they use. I must thank Steemit for creating this best platform, so I can see those things around the world from here…. For me, there are various things in Thailand that I would like to share with all of you as well.

For today, I would like to show you one of the things that can express Thai unique style, "handicraft from bamboo".

In the old days, we especially used the handicrafts from bamboo for household, baskets, bags, the instruments for fishing, etc. I think these are wisdom from our ancestor. We can find bamboo naturally around Thailand. It’s very cheap, it’s a beauty from nature and it’s no harm to us and environment.

Here are samples of the handicrafts from bamboo that are unique style of Thai people….

Hen coop in mini size – it is where we keep hen inside.

thai handicrafts 9.jpg

thai handicrafts 15.jpg

Round bamboo basket

thai handicrafts 6.jpg

thai handicrafts 7.jpg

thai handicrafts 8.jpg

thai handicrafts 5.jpg

Thai farmer hat – Most Thai farmers wore farmer hats to protect them from the sun in the old days.

thai handicrafts 11.jpg

thai handicrafts 17.jpg

thai handicrafts 19.jpg

thai handicrafts 13.jpg

Cha-Lom - it is the one what we put things inside, especially fruits, when we travel from one place to another place.

thai handicrafts 16.jpg

At the right side of the following photo, you will see "Kong" which we use for putting fish, frogs, etc. inside.

thai handicrafts 14.jpg

I think you can learn something about Thai culture through these things.

Last but not least, below is Tuk Tuk which is well-known among foreigners and popular vehicle in Thailand, especially in Bangkok. It's normally in short shape, but this is a long one. It is colorful and decorated beautifully, right?

tuk tuk1.jpg

tuk tuk.jpg

These were what I have seen around MBK Center Building since my last visit. Hope you found them interesting! ;)

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @tangmo.

What a lovely post and beautiful photographs....very interesting objects made from such a versatile material.

Always appreciate learning something new about Thailand.

Wishing you and your family all the best. ^__^

Cheers.

I highly appreciate for your nice comment and stopping by. It’s great to know that you found those objects of Thailand interesting. I’m also happy that you like my post and the photos as well.

All the best to you and your family. ;)

Thanks for sharing this, @tangmo! It shows how creative people can be, in using plants in so many ways. Some plants are good for food, and others for materials for building or crafts. And some plants are good for both -- like your bamboo. It's amazing how many ways people have discovered to make use of bamboo. I like those Cha-Lom -- they seem very light-weight, and practical with the long handles on top. Enjoy your bamboo!

Thanks so much for your nice comment. I’m really happy you found those things interesting. I like the Cha-Lom, too. It’s very light weight and it’s really practical as well. Unfortunately, they are seldom used nowadays.

Wow,, those are amazing with all the weaving and making strips and baskets. I really like the Cha-Lom, they are wild looking and look so very practical. Do you still use them to carry things? Bamboo is so strong and amazing all it can be used for. I would love to see someone who knows what they are doing, weave them. I'm sure it would be amazing, and probably very fast action.
The farmer hats are amazingly well put together. They would be great in the sun. Or staying OUT of the sun ( :
Thanks for some more really great views of the things made in Thailand. Have a most wondrous day today, GFF.

Thanks so much for your great comment. Yeah! I also love Cha-Lom, unfortunately, they are seldom used nowadays. Those things made from bamboo are very amazing, I agree.

Have a pleasant day, GFF! ;)

I could not agree more with what you say about Steemit being a platform that gives us the opportunity to discover other culture. I remember finding your blogs through the culturevulture tag. I love reading your blogs about your country, my friend. I learn loads from what you share and it makes me want to visit your country more and more.

These ingenious creations indeed show the wisdom of the people who have come before us. Our ancestors also used bamboo in a lot of their household things. I remember Tuk Tuk was the design that Miss Thailand wore for her National Costume in Miss Universe 2016. =)

Many thanks for your nice comment. Yeah! It’s because of Steemit that we met and share anything that we found in our countries. I’m glad to hear that you found my blogs through the “culturevulture” tag and love reading about those things in Thailand. You are all welcome to Thailand at any time. ;)

In the meantime, I also love to learn about interesting things in your country through your blog. And it’s great to know that your ancestors used bamboo in a lot of their household things. ;))

P.s. Ah! You can remember the costume of Miss Thailand…. Frankly speaking, I didn’t agree with their idea in creating Tuk Tuk as costume.

เมื่อก่อนจำได้ว่ายายเอางอบมาใส่ให้ ตอนเด็กๆแม่กับยายพาไปทำนาด้วย :-)

ดีจังเลยค่ะ ได้ใส่งอบและมีโอกาสไปทำนากะคุณแม่และคุณยาย น่าสนุกนะคะ ขอบคุณค่ะที่แวะมาทักทายนะคะ ;)

Very nice pictures @tangmo. Bamboo is such a versatile plant - just like the banana and coconut. :)

Thanks a lot for your nice comment. Ah! I totally agree with you. ;)

I love the things made from bamboo and I am very happy to see these things still being made. It must take a long time to make each of these beautiful items and I would imagine that strong hands are needed. Tuk Tuk is very colorful as with all things in your country. : )

Thanks so much for your nice comment. Yeah! I love the things made from bamboo very much, too. I'm glad you found Tuk Tuk and other colorful things in Thailand interesting..... ;)

@tangmo, Seems really beautiful decorations indeed photography. Awesome Tul Tuk there. Lot of seats indeed. Just excellent post created.

Thanks a lot for your nice comment. I'm glad you found Tuk Tuk interesting. This is a specially one with a lot of seats for showing in front of the MBK Center. Meanwhile, the regular Tuk Tuk is a short one.... ;)

Very nice post on the usefulness of bamboo! I have lots of bamboo so one day I should find someone to teach me to weave some bamboo baskets!

Thanks so much for your nice comment. I'm glad you found my post interesting. Ah! It's great that you have a lot of bamboo in your garden. Hope you can find someone to teach you to weave some bamboo baskets someday..... ;)

Wow this is great 3 wheel (tok tok)and very beautiful photography
Thanks @tangmo
Have a great day

Thanks a lot for your nice comment. I'm glad you like Tuk Tuk and the photos.

Have a pleasant day, too. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62869.05
ETH 2545.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72