Amazing “Chedi Sai” or “Sand Pagodas” on Songkran Festival in Thailand

in #life6 years ago

sand pagoda2.jpg

Apart from joyful days during Songkran Festival, we also make merit by building small pagodas from sand on the ground in temples. We believe that every time when we visit temples, we normally go out with some sand beneath our shoes. Therefore, Songkran is the time to bring sand back to temples. That’s why our ancestors created this tradition in the old days.

If you can remember, I presented you last year the sand pagodas through my sister’s photos. This year, my sister sent me again new sets of photos to share with you.

Chedi means pagoda

Sai means sand

Chedi sai means sand pagodas

We normally decorate the sand pagodas with beautiful flowers, joss sticks, candles and flags, etc.

sand pagoda1.jpg

sand pagoda17.jpg

sand pagoda6.jpg

sand pagoda3.jpg

sand pagoda4.jpg

sand pagoda5.jpg

sand pagoda7.jpg

sand pagoda8.jpg

sand pagoda9.jpg

sand pagoda10.jpg

sand pagoda13.jpg

sand pagoda14.jpg

sand pagoda15.jpg

sand pagoda16.jpg

There are many temples all over Thailand that celebrate Songkran festival with this sand pagodas tradition. The sand pagodas in these photos are at Wat Phra That Chaeongchum, in Sakonnakhorn province, in the North East of Thailand.

The temple is a significant temple of this province. The architecture of temple hall and other sculptures are magnificent.

sand pagoda11.jpg

sand pagoda12.jpg

sand pagoda19.jpg

sand pagoda18.jpg

I think building the sand pagodas among excellent atmosphere like this would be fun and great.

Sort:  

Wow! We have many festivals in the Philipiines, but haven't seen anything that can be as fun to do as building sand pagodas :-) Maybe we can start one by the many beaches here.

Many thanks for your nice comment and stopping by! Ah! That's a great idea.... There are a lot of beautiful beaches in your country, so building sand pagodas at the beaches would be really wonderful things! ;)

That is very cool. The tradition is very very interesting. I like that, bringing the sand back to the temple that you carried away. You have many fascinating holidays and traditions in Thailand.
ere, we make sand castles, but it has little meaning (that I know of), except to be goofy on the beach, and watch the waves take your castle away when you are done. Used to do that for hours as children at the beach in the state of Florida. One of the hottest parts of the US.

Thanks so much for your nice comment! I'm really happy you found this tradition interesting.

It's good to know that you made the sand castles on the beach. Me, too. I absolutely agree with you, it's really fun and I like to watch the waves gradually take our castle away, too. Ah! The Florida beach, that would be great! ;)

These are beautiful pictures, @tangmo! Thanks to your sister who took them and thank you for sharing them here. I love the concept of bringing the sand back to the temples. The designs on the pagodas are wonderful and I would absolutely love to visit Thailand to see this festival for myself. Great job, my friend!

Many thanks for your nice comment and very glad to know that you love to visit Thailand to see this festival by yourself. That'll be really great! ;)

สวยทุกเจดีย์เลยค่ะ ยิ่งอันที่มีพับจีบกลีบใบตอง ยิ่งสวย

ขอบคุณมากค่ะ ชอบเจดีย์นั้นเหมือนกันค่ะ

Beautiful sand pagodas, @tangmo. Can see that a lot of effort went into them from the top part of the structure. Nice decorations at the top too. :)

Thanks so much for your nice comment. I absolutely agree with you, a lot of effort in making and decorating the pagodas indeed. ;)

Que bellezas, provoca jugar :)

Thanks a lot for your nice comment and stopping by! ;)

You can see that everyone took a lot of time to make the beautiful sand pagodas. I wonder how long it takes to make one. It is a nice tradition. Everything is beautiful in your country. : )

Thanks so much for your nice comment. I'm really glad you found the tradition interesting. Yes, I also think that everyone took a lot of time to make the beautiful sand pagodas. Your kind words regarding my country can make me smile widely now..... ^_______^

I am happy that you are happy. Seriously, you and your posts have made me love your country and if I didn't have family here, I truly believe that I would move there. : )

Oh! You make my day full of happiness now...... Many thanks indeed, my dear sis! ;)

These are something new to me!! I have never been to a temple with so many Chedis before! These people have great skills in building Chedi Sai.

Love the designs and all the flowers decoration on these Chedi's. This is a very old and well known temple! I really must have a road tour of the north east one day!

Cheers

Thanks a lot for your nice comment. I'm glad to hear that I can show something new to you.... Yes, these people have great skills in building Chedi Sai, I agree. I love the designs and all the flowers decoration on the Chedi's, too. You have your house in the North East, so it's easy for you to have a road tour very soon, right?. ;)

congratulations for the beautiful catches dear friend @tangmo, you are very kind to share them with us, thank you very much for teaching us your traditions

Thanks so much for your nice comment and stopping by! I'm glad you found the photos and tradition interesting! ;)

Beautiful pagodas. Nice thought of bringing sand back to the temple!

Thanks so much for your nice comment! I absolutely agree with you, this is nice thought indeed! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61956.82
ETH 2417.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62