On the Road - Going Back to My Hometown - Story about My Grandfather

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, and welcome back to my blog.
I am currently on a bus, going to my home town.

california-road-highway-mountains-63324.jpeg
Source

Road always brings out some hidden thoughts, and depending on the length of the journey I always come to some new revelation, especially if I travel alone. I am looking forward to seeing my family after a few months, and some dear friends and catch up.

This time the reason for going home isn't too pretty, because it's almost a year since I lost my grandfather. In my country the custom is that after one year you show your respect for the dead by visiting their grave (there are some other customs, but I don't want to get in to details).

So, my grandfather is one of the most influential people in my life. He lived up to 88, and was perfectly healthy. I always wondered how did he live that long. And sure, the genetics played it's part, but he wasn't too careful with his health. He didn't monitor his diet, he ate what he wanted. Once a week he would have one beer, he smoked when he was young. But the thing is, in 28 years (that I knew him) I've never seen him angry, annoyed or nervous. He was always calm and smiley, even if he disagrees with someone or something, he wouldn't try to explain his point of view. He would say what he means, and move on. The only moment when somebody saw him sad was when his wife, my grandmother died. He loved her dearly. If he had some problem, he would solve it or forget it, that was his policy.

He worked hard, on the construction, since he was 14, and never stopped. He even built our family home, an enormous house that has 4 floors, all by him self. He would always have some candy for his grand children, and even lived to have grand-grandchildren.

IMG_20131021_133717-1.jpg
Grandpa and his grand-grandchild

I love him so much, and I am so grateful to have had such an amazing person in my life. When I get sad for losing him, I try to remember what a Super-grandpa (that's how we called him) he was. And I to this day think "What would grandpa do?"

Who is one of your role models in life?

With love,
Tamara

Sort:  

Congratulations @tamacvet! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69271.35
ETH 3679.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.36